We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best FOOD in Sarasota!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoder's Restaurant

Yoder's Restaurant
3434 Bahia Vista St, Sarasota, FL 34239-7442
941-955-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 852 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Branson, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best FOOD in Sarasota!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Best food, by far, in all of Sarasota! Fresh made, home cooked style food. The pies are amazing, but my favorite is the chocolate cake! The fresh produce they sell is great and some of the best. It's where I buy my honey at as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Your words are too kind! Thank You!!!!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    205
    79
    49
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Awesome Awesome!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is the best!! Had to wait in line for a while but it was well worth it. We had fish fry and it was great, the coleslaw was the best I ever had. I want to move there just so I can eat the everyday.And the pies make sure you save room they are delicious!! Can't wait to go back!!Only open till 8pm so get there early.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Please come down our way again, soon!!!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amish Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Yoder's Restaurant is in the heart of a small Amish/Mennonite community in Sarasota. No horse and buggies, but plenty of bicycles. Down home cooking in a relaxed atmosphere. Portions are enormous. Then there are the pies. Oh my. Save room for dessert! It is first come first served, but the line moved quickly. Service was warm and friendly despite the large crowds of diners moving through.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us!
We're happy to hear you enjoy us and this small town Amish community!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nothing like a big old slice of Meh, to finish off your meal!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Every year you hear about how the best pie in town is from Yoders when it comes to thanksgiving. People line up around the corner and down the street almost it seems. The amish are known for their pies and fine craftsmanship in the kitchen. We were having a dinner party and didnt want to put much time into the dessert so we went with what we may have considered common knowledge to the locals. We picked out 3 pies to make sure that there was something for everyone. It may not have been so bad if all my friends weren't cooks. When I taste a blueberry pie I want to bite into fresh berries and not a mouthful of blue corn syrup filler with what tastes like preserved berries. The whipped cream and pudding doesn't taste as fresh as it does canned. The apples fell into the same with the over-cooked can flavor. Needless to say I only stuck with the pies, but as much of their reputation that has been built up based on this I was pretty let down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience with us.

Needless to say, we were disappointed to read your thoughts regarding the pies that you purchased from us. It is always our goal to serve top quality home baked pies. We clearly did not live up to our own high standards and for that we are very sorry.
We are constantly striving to improve in any area that will benefit our current and future customers so we value your feedback.

We do hope that we will have the privilege of serving you again in the future, and believe that if you would allow us that opportunity we could make your previous experience up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Bring a hearty appetite!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yes, it's true: you are likely to wait in line at Yoder's, but the line moves quickly.

The plates are absolutely laden with food; even a small side of green beans was overflowing the bowl. An order of a quarter fried chicken could have fed two people. The food at dinnertime is basic comfort food--aaaahhhhh. We weren't overwhelmed with our dinners although we enjoyed them. We ordered lemon meringue and strawberry rhubarb pie for dessert; again, they were good but not overwhelming.

Bottom line: if you're in the market for a big dose of comfort food, you'll enjoy Yoder's, whether you eat inside with waitress service or go to the take-out window and sit down at the picnic tables outside. We also enjoyed our brief conversation with our Amish waitress.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We pride ourselves on homecooked Amish country, country food. Good for the eating and good for the soul. :)
Hope we get the chance to serve you again!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoder's Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Yoder's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoder's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.