We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in town, but plan on waiting in the winter.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoder's Restaurant

Yoder's Restaurant
3434 Bahia Vista St, Sarasota, FL 34239-7442
941-955-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 824 restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town, but plan on waiting in the winter.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Where to begin...this is a Sarasota institution. The pies are legendary, the portions huge, and it matters not for what meal you go, it is always the same, top notch. As residents we only eat there in the spring and summer months as we can get seated. During peak season there is a line and breakfast is cut off at 11, so plan accordingly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review!
We can't wait to start seeing our "local faces" around here again, soon! ;)
~Yoder's Restaruant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    400
    173
    66
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had my birthday dinner at Yoder's, after spending a lovely two days in the Sarasota area. It was our second visit and I couldn't think of a better place to celebrate my birthday. The food is out of this world and very reasonable. My boyfriend and I ordered the meatloaf with creamy mashed potatoes and stuffing, enveloped by delicious gravy-wow! The homemade bread was warm and a perfect base for the amazing apple butter, always available on the table. We nearly consumed all of the apple butter-addictive! We barely had room for the homemade pies, but "forced" ourselves to enjoy the best desserts in the world. The charming waitresses brought my butterscotch cream pie to me with a candle on it, while singing happy birthday to me-sweet! My boyfriend ordered the cherry pie. Both pies were amazing with a flaky crust and the best whipped cream I have ever experienced-fantastic! The service is efficient and friendly-very welcoming. The atmosphere is so joyful that strangers may become friends. I am already planning my next trip to Yoder's!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
AWE!
Thank you for celebrating your special day with us!
Can't wait to see you again!!!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Amish Appetite!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Do not eat for a week before going to this place. the food is awesome - true home cooking and there is a lot of it! there are queues near enough all the time but they do seat you quickly. The salads are enough for a family of 4 and are lovely with fresh fruit, nuts and cheeses. The dessert pies are lovely, we were a little disappointed they didn't do main meal pies like cottage pie, steak and ale pie etc (i'm british!)

Overall a lovely dining experience, would fully recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us!
We're happy to hear that your party enjoyed everything.
If you are ever in the area again, stop in and see us.
(you might even what to give us a call and see if we are serving "Shepard's Pie" :)
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Holy Heck Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Where to begin? Oh yeah - THE PIE. Do not pass go, go directly to Yoder's for pie. What's even better is the rest of the menu is great. Hubby and I had meatloaf sandwiches with a side each. While the sandwich makeup was fairly simple and straightforward, the taste was amazing from bread and meatloaf to the unbelievable crispness of the lettuce and scrumptious tomato. Great also to walk around to the gift shop, deli and market. Wonderful food, OMG pie, fun location with additional things to do. Can't say enough great things.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
So glad you enjoyed!
Please visit us again, soon!
~Yoder's Restaurnat and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We live about an hour north of Yoder's. We kept seeing it featured on the Food Network and Travel Channel shows so we decided to check it out for ourselves. It was definitely worth the drive. They have the best fried chicken I've ever had. The pieces are huge! One breast is equivalent to 2 anywhere else. The meat is juicy and tender, and the breading is light and flavorful. The mac-n-cheese was very cheesy and creamy. If your lucky enough to go on a day when they're serving beets, get them! You won't be disappointed. Now....the pies. We ordered 2 different slices to try for dessert: coconut cream and strawberry rhubard. The strawberry rhubard was the best out of those two. We also brought home individual slices of peanut butter pie (the best out of all them hands down), fresh peach pie and blueberry pie. Don't get me wrong, they were all good but the peanut butter pie is just special. If you're going on the weekend, stay away from the traditional lunch and dinner hours unless you want to wait in line for up to an hour! Parking is a challenge at peak times too. They also have a great gift shop on premises with lots of hand made and unique items. They also have a farmers market on premises for fresh fruits and vegetables and some other items they make and sell there. Sorry I can't give you more insight as to the other dishes but we are so in love with the fried chicken, we never order anything else!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your heartfelt review, it touched us!
We look forward to seeing you again!!!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoder's Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Yoder's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoder's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.