We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish it were closer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoder's Restaurant

Yoder's Restaurant
3434 Bahia Vista St, Sarasota, FL 34239-7442
941-955-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 848 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Alaska
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“wish it were closer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Glad we read reviews and found this place during our recent visit!. Friendly staff, wonderful food and fabulous pies! We enjoyed the country decor, gift shop and produce market next door also. Very family and budget friendly!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks for the great review!!!
We wish you were closer too!!! :)
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    205
    79
    49
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

You will almost certainly queue to get in. Wait! Listen, this place will not win awards for décor, pretty old school, will not win awards for their 'pushing the boundaries, modern cuisine and dishes' but what they do is simple food that can be found all over the place, the difference is, these guys have perfected it.

I ordered the Fried Chicken. You get - fried chicken, mashed potato, gravy and corn on the cob. How easy is that? Well, that's what I was thinking when it turned up and once I had taken a couple of mouthfuls I was thinking 'why can't everyone do it like this'. Perfect, crisp, tender, juicy chicken and the gravy just added to it. Also had the chocolate peanut butter pie. Could not finish it, but that was the best pie I have ever tasted, again, simple perfection, just melted in your mouth. Total bill was $54 or about £35. In the UK, for the quality of food, it would have cost £70+ easily, and then some. If they opened up a place like this in the UK, they would clean up, would be packed day in day out just like the one in Sarasota.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us.
We are so pleased to hear that you have a great expierence!
Hope we get the chance to serve you again!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Wait is worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Small, crowded, but worth the wait. Lines of people waiting to get wonderful Amish style food. Some of the best hot beef sandwiches with real mashed potatoes and gravy like grandmas...........Ummm good. My fried chicken was a little dry for me but a large order and based on my wifes hot beef; I'll come back and maybe have room for some of those fantastic looking pies that everyone around me was eating....and they were VERY large pieces too. I didn't see any left on the plates. Afterwards you can shop at the market where they have excellent fresh fruits and vegtables. VERY fresh and some different fruits....kumkuats, yellow mangos to mention a few or walk to the gift shop for a rememberance. Try it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words!
Glad to hear you enjoyed us, and even took a trip over to our Market!
Hope you come by our way again!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“All around AMAZING!! A must try....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Love the foods there...there's way too many favorites!! I love their Grilled garlic chicken breast with a heaping serving of real homemade mashed potatoes with a toss salad, and a side of their delicious house dressing!! Not to mention the tastiest apple butter ever made! With a HUGE slice of shoofly pie!! ***love the staff....always full of smiles and very welcoming!! Love the being at home feeling! They also have a Fabulous carryout crew!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks for the super review!
We have to agree, our carryout team is AMAZING!!!!
~Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Best Home Cooking This Side Of Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

When you step into Yoder's Restaurant, you step back in time to when dining out was cozy, people knew you, and food was not so commercialized as it is today. It is like eating at your family's house. You are not bombarded with tv's screaming football games, and harried waitresses just trying to turn over tables. It is reminiscent of the diners of my youth. The setting is charming, and the waitresses genuinely want to make you happy, and you can tell that they love their jobs and are proud of what is served. The food is homemade from scratch, and not laden with preservatives like so much restaurant food is to keep it fresh forever. This is important to me as my husband had colon cancer and we try to avoid preservatives and nitrates. Their servings are enormous, you will never leave hungry, and their pies are famous worldwide, having been on Man vs. Food and many other shows. Next door is their produce market and deli, where I have to stop at least once a week and pick up one of their delicious pot pies or other premade dinners that are so easy to just heat and serve. It is easy to see why people drive from 1-3 hours away to dine here. It is not just a restaurant, it is both an experience and a destination!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YodersAmishVillage, Public Relations Manager at Yoder's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your super amazing review!!!!
Your words are too kind!
We LOVE you guys as much as you LOVE us!!!!! (and great picture)
Yoder's Restaurant and Amish Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoder's Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Yoder's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoder's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.