We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Sarasota to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Sarasota
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5690 Honore Avenue, Sarasota, FL 34233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicopee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days. We arrived after midnight and the check in was seamless to be that late. We were able to upgrade our room to a Jacuzzi room, I highly recommend and it was spacious, the bed was very comfortable. The only complaint was the water pressure in the shower was very weak, outside of this minor detail the stay was over all wonderful. Breakfast was okay, nothing to write home about. If you are not a big breakfast person then this will do. If you like more quality food, then I suggest you get the coffee, tea and go out to eat breakfast. We did do this a couple of night because I really like breakfast. The beaches here are absolutely fabulous and a must if staying in the area. We spent most of our time on the beach but to be able to come back to the hotel and enjoy a hot Jacuzzi bathe was also great. There is a small gym and a heated swimming pool and hot tub. All the necessities that one would need without the over price of a high end hotel. I am a very picky person when it comes to hotel and I must say this was a pleasant surprise. I am going to be paying for a dear friend of mine to stay at this hotel on their vacation.

Room Tip: ask for a jacuzzi room, it is worth the extra 20 dollars a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    40
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
103
95
17
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murphysboro, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Only 5 mins from siesta keys beach . Very clean and new . Staff was amazing , so kind and accommodating . Don't forget to tip them , theywork very hard. Jose our house keeper was very kind and funny . Will definitely come back .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Arrival was a bit sketchy-the advertised pet fee on the website is misleading, $30 PER PET per night not per night, a very expensive pet fee so not really a good option if you travel with dogs (we have 2). Also, the cancellation policy is 24 hours so it is difficult to change course if you want to do so. The man at the desk upon arrival was a bit grouchy when we questioned the pet charge. That said, the hotel itself is very new, otherwise well run, good breakfast, VERY convenient to Siesta Key beach, very nice rooms and quite spacious, super clean and well designed, best Comfort Suites I have ever stayed in. The pool is small and we did not use it but it is adequate, especially for small kids-it was packed, BTW. Thanks for an overall very good experience in a beautiful area!

Room Tip: all rooms have a good view but pond view is best-
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The BEST staff I have ever seen...Beginning with Eric on the Front Desk, always smiling, helpful, and cooperative, as well as Miranda and Virginia all of whom were pleasant and helpful. Scarlet kept both a meticulous and delicious dining experience available every morning with her effervescent personality and great positive mental attitude. Let us not forget Estella who kept our room clean and refreshed every day during our stay. We will definitely return to a Comfort Suite again based solely on the positive experience with the staff and the cleanliness of the property. Thank you to all I have mentioned. Your friendliness, courtesy and respect made our entire stay the most enjoyable in years. We wish you all the best!

Room Tip: 3 floors only, a bit of a view, clean and refreshing pool with SALT water, NOT chlorine! Had trouble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We visit siesta key quite a bit on the weekends as we are from Tampa so we have seen a bunch of hotels! This one was quite a surprise. My wife is used to the nicer accommodations so was skeptical when I told her. She was more then happy! We had our 5 y/o son so the king bed plus pull out was perfect with a half wall divide. The room was clean and smelled new. The room even passed my wife's black light test. The pool is tiny but was perfect for a few nights of cooling down. The hot tub was huge and very warm. Both were clean and in great condition. The breakfast was very good as well. Pancakes waffle sausage biscuits eggs and various cold options. Staff was on top of keeping stocked even with the crowd the food was fresh and hot without waiting for more. Overall this stay went above all of our expectations. Also close to siesta beach. About 15 mins. Will definitely stay again!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Close to I-75. Very ckean & comfortable kind bed. Agree with other review about the too cold & noisy air conditioning unit next to bed. Chose this hotel based on reviews, especially breakfast which we were not pleased with at all. If you grew up eating govern,ent surplus powdered eggs then that's what the soft scrambled eggs are like. Pancake make is good, if you can get to it. So crowded morning of departure, tried 3 times to get in, no place to sit. Final try it was just turning 10:00 and was still full, tried to get a pancake but staff had already turned it off and rudely infomed me that "Breakfast is Over." Staff was not friendly, no one ever spoke to us coming or going or in halls. Went down for a cup of coffee in evening but the dining room was closed for a catered guest dinner gathering and couldn't get coffee. Waffle House is nearby, I'd plan on breakfast there. Refrigerator has no freezer, don't plan on ice cream or refreezing you travel ice packs. Ringling Museum & Mansion was wonderful and well worth the visit!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We needed a home base hotel while visiting family and this was an economical choice since we seldom use budget hotels however this is a newer place so it's not dirty. I did have an issue with too much "cleaning solution/febreeze" odor so we had to open the windows just to get it out, but it wasn't that bad so we continued to stay. The temperature controls of the room were horrible and we found ourselves constantly adjusting for too-cold or too-warm, and it was noisy at night, especially unfortunate for the people nearest the window with the cooling system blowing on them all night. This location offers ONLY ONE washer and it's SMALL--and ONE dryer (average sized) so be prepared to wash out your beach clothes at midnight because you are waiting on others. The water pressure was poor and the water never really got hot enough but was OK. The mini fridge was about 3 feet tall and there was a tiny microwave in the room, with an ironing board and iron also if necessary. There were luggage holders as well to set our bags on during our stay. The place was very clean and the bathrooms were large. Overall, our stay was good. We probably would not stay here again just because of the laundry situation. They had a nice little pool and hot tub in the back of the hotel and parking was easy. The neighborhood is a good suburb within walking distance of a Walgreens and only about a mile away from a grocery store. Traffic on the nearby road was hard to navigate but that's not the hotel's problem. It is a good hotel and pretty clean, however, the cleaning solution smell was enough for me not to be completely satisfied with our stay. People at the front desk were very nice. It was good enough.

Room Tip: Top floor room (3rd floor) room 302 is the first one the cleaning staff get to in the morning, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Sarasota, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Momwith5kids,

Thank you for staying with us at the New Comfort Suites Sarasota and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share about your stay. I have discussed your review with my executive housekeeper to be sure your concerns with cleaning solutions are addressed, so the next guest doesn't encounter the same problems. I will be sure to share your other concerns with the hotels ownership as discussion for future development. I hope you will give the hotel another opportunity to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Sarasota

Address: 5690 Honore Avenue, Sarasota, FL 34233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Sarasota 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of Interstate 75, the Comfort Suites Sarasota offers easy access to the world-famous Siesta Key Beach, as well as attractions for the entire family like Myakka State Park and the Ringling Museum of Art. This interior corridor Sarasota, FL hotel makes it easy to take in a Spring Training Game at new Baltimore Orioles Stadium or visit St. Armand’s Circle, which is only a short drive away. Guests of the Comfort Suites Sarasota hotel are invited to relax in the outdoor heated pool and work out in the Fitness Center. There are 2 meeting rooms, with the hotel able to accommodate 35 people for banquets and conferences. Other amenities include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free newspaper M-F, Business Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.