We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supernova Cafe is superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Supernova Cafe

Supernova Cafe
1900 Main Street, Suit 104, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-366-6610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 851 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rutland, Vermont
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Supernova Cafe is superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Guiseppe worked with me to plan my 40th birthday brunch at Supernova. Some of my friends are vegans, and he was very helpful in suggesting dishes that could be made without meat or dairy. I ordered some of the rice balls ahead (as they are pre-formed), and so we did them with just spinach with no cheese. They were AMAZING! All my friends were so happy with the food. It is a very convenient location as well, with parking across the street in the parking garage. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So glad that this restaurant is here in Sarasaota. Just a sweet, simple place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The food is very good; very authentic no pretense. Like eating at your Italian grandmother's house. Very good prices too. Very kind staff from the owner to Marco the waiter, coffee maker extraordinaire. JUst nice people and a restaurant you want to visit time and time again. I hope they do well and stay in business a long time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW - One that worked !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent three days in Sarasota and the Supernova Café was our Valentine evening dinner. The previous night we went to a "fancy" type of restaurant and were disappointed. The Supernova Café was limited to a $50. per couple Valentine Dinner. We agreed "lets try it. Can not be any worse... .". Our result: Don't go anywhere else but the Supernova Cafe for dinner WHATEVER the cost. The people; the wine; the food; the setting (clean an simple); the cost; were excellent. I just got back to WI and to Supernova this is my review that I said I would make. I have spoken about our great time to many friends during our vacation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Siciallian in Sarasota!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We ate dinner there last Friday and are returning this week. We split a salad, which was more than enough. I had the Fettuccine Bolognese w/ fresh pasta - it rocked! My husband had the special that night - Grilled Salmon served on top of penne w/light cream sauce. He loved it. The prices are quite reasonable, the service right on spot. Next visit I plan on trying out their cannoli and/or tiramisu. This is a great new addition to downtown Sarasota.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Restaurant in Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have been here twice, for lunch and dinner. Great food and reasonably priced. Marco was our server both times. Very knowledable about the food and drinks. Also, very charming and efficient. It's a very welcoming restaurant. Try the homemade pasta ($1.00 additional). Also, the calamari (pan fried not deep fried) was awesome. If there is calamari on the menu we always try it. It was outstanding. This is an "authentic" italian restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Supernova Cafe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Supernova Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Supernova Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.