We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food at a very fair price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Supernova Cafe

Supernova Cafe
1900 Main Street, Suit 104, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-366-6610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 848 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Italian food at a very fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The menu of Italian dishes is extensive, and the food is excellent. We started with a complimentary appetizer (a spinach and dough morsel) and then moved to very large and fresh mixed salads with a zesty dressing. (You can also get a half serving of salad at a reduced price.) I enjoyed my pasta puttanesca, with freshly made linguini. The chef will leave out the anchovies if you don't want them. Ask for the home made pasta noodle, which is a dollar extra but well worth it. A friend liked her lasagna, which had lots and lots of cheese. The servers were absolutely fantastic -- friendly, engaging, helpful and quick. It's not a fancy restaurant, but the prices are extremely reasonable. We have eaten here twice while waiting to go to the movie theater across the street. This restaurant is a wonderful addition to Main Street and downtown Sarasota.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful new restaurant in Sarasota.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a great Italian restaurant. Not flashy, but really good food and service. Very clean and crisp. I had an awesome thin crust, ham, mushroom, artichoke heart & hard boiled egg pizza, and my wife had salmon and a salad. We loved it. I work in downtown Sarasota, just a block away and will recommend this place to clients and go there myself for lunch many times. Great job, Marco and the other staff. Welcome to Sarasota!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food is always excellent. The service is great. The owner truly cares about making it a great dining experience for his customers. I highly recommend this restaurant especially if you are in the mood for Italian food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across it walking through Sarasota and it was the best meal I've had in a long time. It's authentic Sicilian, the atmosphere is great, it's like being in Sicily. The waiters/owners speak with an Italian accent. Will be coming back!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Offers Sicilian street food specialties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A menu of Sicilian street food specialties sets this new restaurant apart from the many other Italian places in town. A selection of fried or baked dough savories are appetizing, inexpensive takeouts. Another unique feature are the excellent coffees, wines and inventive fruit drinks, accompanied by small plates of complimentary morsels that brings a touch of Italian bar culture to Main Street Sarasota.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Supernova Cafe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Supernova Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Supernova Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.