We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nancy's BBQ

Nancy's BBQ
301 S Pineapple Ave, at Ringling Blvd, on the roundabout, Sarasota, FL 34236
(941) 955-2271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 794 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Voted Sarasota's "Best BBQ" 2012 and 2013 by the readers of SARASOTA Magazine. We're a locally owned, family friendly, fast casual bar-b-q joint. Community seating inside, picnic tables on our screened porch and outside in our garden area. Good selection of American beers, including artisan breweries, plus wine. Children's menu. Serving award-winning Pulled Pork, Texas style Brisket, St. Louis Ribs, Smoked Chicken, pastrami-rub smoked and chilled salmon, and 13 sides -- most vegetarian and many vegan. Oh ... and don't forget our entree size salads: both our BIG salad and our Southern Ceasar Salad!
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Loved the atmosphere of this wonderful spot!
The bbq salad was to die for! My husband had ribs and chopped bbq and was thrilled. (He is quite the bbq/smoker at home too) The sauces were delicious, staff helpful and friendly and we are thrilled with another great food find in Sarasota!!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    74
    37
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This place is poor, wouldn't survive elsewhere!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Where to begin, well, it simply wouldn't make it in Texas, or even NC where they know proper Q and it would last about a week in Memphis. It's probably the best of a very poor bunch of barbecue joint's in Sarasota but that isn't saying a whole lot. Brisket has been dry each time we've visited. Other items we tried had a slightly gross and tired feel to them. Chicken was also tough and dry. Sides were average at best and on top of that it's not inexpensive.

When I complained about the quality of the Brisket the lummox who served me simply shrugged his shoulders and said 'well nobody else has complained'.

Well guess what I won't be complaining again because I won't ever eat there again. Strictly for the tourists and out of towners. Sarasota still awaits good barbeque.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Perfect place for eating tender ribs and different sides (2 out of approx. 10 sides to choose from). Food can be taken in or out. Good value for price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best BBQ In Town But Still Needs Work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Sarasota, in general, lacks great BBQ. Nancy's is definitely the best but would still be an average spot if it was in a BBQ town like KC or Memphis. If you need a BBQ fix, stop into Nancy's for lunch and enjoy the brisket.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“best bbq in sarasota”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hidden away in the heart of downtown, Nancy's is unpretentious. Counter service, long wood tables, plenty of kitchen roll to wipe yourself down, and lots of bbq sauce choices. The food straightforward (the usual ribs, brisket, sausages, etc.), and the sides a little disappointing for me, but that's a matter of taste: I'm very picky about my beans. Go for one of the platters, sharing if necessary, as they are big.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nancy's BBQ also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Nancy's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nancy's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.