We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small museum, rainy day activity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marietta Museum-Art & Whimsy

Marietta Museum-Art & Whimsy
2121 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234
(941) 364-3399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 112 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Siesta Key, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
229 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Small museum, rainy day activity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Brought our kids. It is whimsical, but I felt like I had to keep a close eye on the kiddos. There is a garden outback that we could relax a bit and let the kids go.

There aren't many rainy day activities in Sarasota, so it's worth stopping in.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    25
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sarasota fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“just a little piece of Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

See the alligators and go for an airboat ride. The bird walk is a great place to see flamingos. Fun for the family

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Art Museum & Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The displays are all well done, and bright & cheery. Everyone working there are very helpful and friendly. One lady even suggested taking our picture with the "Flying Pigs" sculptures! Great picture. For a really relaxing and enjoyable time don't miss this priceless jewel -- and it was within walking distance of our hotel.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Magical Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is just a wonderland and fun place to be. There is no set admission, but they encourage donations. Beautiful gardens, whimsical garden sculptures, a museum with all kinds of 'happy' art. My friends and I like to meet here, just to sit in the gardens and visit, soaking up all the positive energy that this place offers!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Free Admission but they do accept donations. Totally unique art, sculpture, and whimsical items will amaze inside (including the bathrooms) and outside in the parking lot and the gardens. Kind of expected it to be "tacky" but it definitely was not. Plan on nearly an hour to see it all. Understand that they're closing for the summer for expansion. Worth waiting for.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marietta Museum-Art & Whimsy also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marietta Museum-Art & Whimsy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marietta Museum-Art & Whimsy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.