We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competitive to Major City Orchestras” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarasota Orchestra

Sarasota Orchestra
709 N. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL
(866) 508-0611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 89 Attractions in Sarasota
Type: Symphonies
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: For more than 60 years, the Sarasota Orchestra has been entertaining music lovers from around the region, and visitors from around the world. The 80-member Orchestra performs more than 100 classical, pops and family concerts each year, and thrives as the oldest continuing orchestra in the state of Florida. In 2008 the organization unveiled a new name and logo with a package that offers new series, new concerts and a whole new way to experience live music, along with the timeless classics.An arts leader in the community, the Sarasota Orchestra has a dual mission, dedicated to exquisite performance and first-class musical education. The Sarasota Orchestra's acclaimed music education program includes the 50-year-old Youth Orchestra, which features five ensembles – the most advanced of which, The Youth Philharmonic, made its Carnegie Hall debut in 2008. The Sarasota Orchestra also offers music lessons for students of all ages and abilities, sponsors multiple community-outreach programs and is the parent program of the Sarasota Music Festival.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Competitive to Major City Orchestras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The best of all the live performances in the area. This orchestra is surprising excellent. I've lived in NYC, Philadelphia, Chicago and St Louis and the Sarasota Orchestra is competitive to all.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrific symphony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I first saw this small city symphony in 2012 when they didn't have a regular conductor and was blown away by how good they were. I'm accustomed to hearing NY, Philly, Vienna, etc. and was thrilled to find that Sarasota could hold their own against any of the big guys.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, FL
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Excellent Performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This performance was part of the Great Escapes series called "Let It Snow", featuring holiday/winter selections. We had reserved balcony seats. They were o.k. but I hope we can get better ones in the future. Very few were available when we chose them last September. Series subscribers get a better choice, but because we don't live in the area we can't become subscribers. The music was good with a few special effects for some selections, like Sleigh Ride.

The volunteer ushers were very polite and helpful, even pointing out second floor restrooms and the elevator to the balcony, which is not very obvious. Parking is free, plentiful and nearby. We had an enjoyable evening.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A fine local orchestra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have had many enjoyable evenings at the Sarasota Orchestra concerts. The 80-member orchestra has improved during the years we have lived in Sarasota.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A truly world class orchestra, one of Sarasota's cultural gems.The masterworks series during the winter brings some of the greatest classical music frequently conducted by guest conducters from all over the world. The new music director Anu Tali will make what is great even greater. Don't miss the orchestra during season.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarasota Orchestra also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sarasota Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarasota Orchestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.