We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious home cooking !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Cafe

Gateway Cafe
6551 Gateway Ave, 6551 Gateway Ave, Sarasota, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 819 restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious home cooking !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I live in Gulf Gate and this little spot is our new favorite breakfast destination .Everything here is always super fresh - there is always something yummy on the specials board . The homefries are especially delicious but everything we have had here has been great .The service is friendly and prompt - give this little gem a try !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    24
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find in sarasota!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast here today (3/23/13)...place is absolutely adorable and very clean. Food was amazing and our server was excellent! We love this little place and will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Rockport, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best fresh food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We live here year around and have frequented this cafe since it opened at least once a week. Breakfast and lunch available all day. Everything we've had has been delicious. They make everything fresh, crab cakes, french fries etc. no frozen items from their suppliers. There are always new items on the board to add to the menu. It's family owned and they are there serving and cooking every day. All the staff is friendly and make everyone feel welcome. They have it all cozy atmosphere, good location, always delicious food, clean and friendly.
Sundays have been their busiest day but most other days you can always find a table promptly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Little Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband snd I went there for the first time a week ago. He loved the chicken salad. I can honestly say the grilled chicken wrap with their home made ranch dressing was the best I have had in Sarasota. It is spotless which is a huge plus. The owners were friendly and accommodating. It is a very small place with very ,very good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Best In Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting Sarasota on vacation for years and came accross this place this year. Although the restaurant hasnt been open very long the staff is wonderful and the food is great. This is by far the best place we have eaten breakfast at in the area. Everything is fresh and homemade. Prices are great compared the other places around. We have gone with our kids and can you say family friendly. You can tell there is a lot of experience within this place. We will continue to eat here often.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Cafe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gateway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.