We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual seafood place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Diner

Shore Diner
465 John Ringling Blvd, St Armands Circle, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-296-0301
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shore Diner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Adams Drive
Transit: The public bus stops within 200 feet of the restaurant
Description: Shore Diner is a fresh new American restaurant with a nod to Florida's Mid-Century. Great place for a casual lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch in a warm, modern environment.
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great casual seafood place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Fine seafood. Great casual place upstairs over the St. Armandas Circle shopping/dining area. We had dinner. I recommend it for lunch since I prefer a more upscale atmosphere at dinner when traveling. And my friend had recommended it for lunch. A local recommended dinner. It was fine for that, but other restaurants in Sarasota are more divine for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    126
    35
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First time and probably last.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had heard good things about shore and that is why we took the trip to the circle to check it out.

Food and ambience was nice, service was the worst we've had in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Will be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We ate there May 8th- first time -recommended by others. Food and atmosphere were great! -Lobby was full -long waits, found out it will be permanently closed this Saturday. We were told owners and chef were in their 80's and decided to retire after 40 years of operation.... Many of those waiting with us said they had been eating there for decades. and will miss it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lunch for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Called here for lunch on family recommendation.
Enjoyed a cocktail before, which was very strong..great!

Ordered the lobster salad sandwich which was superb, fresh and delicious. Also had the turkey salad sandwich which was also good.

Server was attentive, polite and pleasant.
Sat outdoors on the balcony which was also good, and well shaded as it was around 90 degrees.
Only negative bit was the music which was a little louder than average and is a killer for those with hearing aids.
However, we shall be back for more another time.




Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Waited 30 minutes, then left”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The four of us (ladies) got our drinks in a timely enough manner but then 30 minutes elapsed and our waitress never returned to take the dinner order. She served others, but ours was a kind of twilight zone experience. Not busy enough to blame that, not late enough to mistake us for clubbers. No idea. Eventually went to Mattisons City Grille.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shore D, Manager at Shore Diner, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
I would like to apologize for the recent experience you had while dining at Shore Diner. First and foremost is our customer satisfaction and we obviously let you down. I am sorry again for that. Please know that we start each and every day and shift with one goal: Make the experience the best it can be for our guests. I understand that we can never have a perfect shift, but my job is to ensure it's as perfect as possible. Please accept my offer to come back and give us another try as we would hate to lose you as a customer for good. We know that there are many options in and around Sarasota to dine and I know that we have one of the best there is.

Please send me your address via email to Shorediner@gmail.com so I may send you a gift certificate to dine with us again soon.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Diner also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shore Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.