We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed the atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Diner

Shore Diner
465 John Ringling Blvd, St Armands Circle, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-296-0301
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shore Diner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 890 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Adams Drive
Transit: The public bus stops within 200 feet of the restaurant
Description: Shore Diner is a fresh new American restaurant with a nod to Florida's Mid-Century. Great place for a casual lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch in a warm, modern environment.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“enjoyed the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a very nice experience @ Shore. We ate outside and it was delightful. Loved the food and the service by Jessica was outstanding.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    156
    41
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Really like the food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our Sunday brunch here. The restaurant is very pretty, spacious and feels much like outdoor dining. The food was reasonably priced and very good. Had the spinach and mushroom frittata which came with a kale salad - excellent. They are also known for their egg bennies. Service was good with everything except coffee refills. Had a hard time getting someone's attention to get that cup refilled! Don't forget to try the butterscotch sticky buns - yum! I will definitely try this place again when I am back in the Sarasota area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great mussels, but the rest just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We made reservations...need them for the outside seating at dinner. Sat immediately and ordered drinks. The sangria was very good! As was the cucumber gin martini....very good and unique. The waitress was stone faced. No real personality. Not overly helpful with making suggestions.

The wine is very reasonably priced for a bottle. We had the Prisoner wine and have never paid such a great price! We also ordered the mussels as an appetizer....excellent!

The starter portions are huge! So plenty to share. I opted for the tomato mozzarella salad (very good), the roasted Brussels sprouts(under cooked), and the Mac and cheese (not much flavor...disappointed).

The rest of our meals were very average....meatloaf, fried chicken, ribs. Nothing really a standout.

Overall, good location street side but I will try a different place next time I visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Loved the atmosphere! We chose to sit in the lounge area which overlooks the street and has heat lamps to keep you warm - really great scene and you can still order from the full menu. The calamari was out of this world - came with an Asian type salad mixed in, such a great balance. The red snapper was very good. Would return for the atmosphere and food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Meg-nificent" Recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

While walking around St. Armand's Circle on Lido Key trying to decide where to eat, my wife and I ran into an off duty Shore Diner server named Meg. She extolled the virtues of the Shore Diner and gave us some great recommendations from the menu. She told us we should get the Calamari appetizer, the kale salad, the Gulf Shrimp and Scallops with risotto, and the Red Snapper. She even remembered where they were on the menu. The Calamari was the best we ever had. The Kale Caesar Salad was interesting and outstanding subbing plantains for croutons. My wife loved the Gulf Shrimp with Scallops (so much so that she ordered it again 2 days later when we returned)! The Red Snapper was excellent also.
The first night we had an excellent server named Jesse who was attentive and informative and corroborated Meg's claims. The second night we had an engaging waiter named Sandor who had a great personality and was equally attentive and engaging. We thoroughly enjoyed both of our experiences at Shore thanks to our new friend Meg.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Diner also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shore Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.