We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some pluses, some minuses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar

Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar
Shoppes at University Center, 8433 Cooper Creek Blvd, Sarasota, FL
941-893-5955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Don't miss this great new restaurant!
Sarasota
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Some pluses, some minuses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had trouble deciding whether to give this restaurant three or four circles, or whatever they are. Your satisfaction will depend a lot on what you order, and how much you enjoy using new technology. My wife and I had dinner here with another couple on a busy Wednesday night. My wife ordered the tomato bisque soup, which she permitted me to taste. Both of us agreed that it was by far the best we had ever eaten. On the other hand, my hamburger was average at best. Fries were very good, but very, very salty. Wine selection is very nice.
The new technology, ordering from an iPad, is a mixed blessing. We placed our order relatively quickly, but the couple we were with took longer to decide what they wanted. As an unanticipated result, their food arrived 20 minutes after ours. A word to the wise - if you have multiple parties ordering, try to have them do it simultaneously. Other than that anomaly, the technology worked beautifully, and when the checks arrived they were perfectly accurate. It also helped that we had an excellent waitress, who guided us patiently through the ordering process.
Prices are reasonable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    43
    12
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's hit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great venue for fun and good food! flat breads are great - love the portabello and short rib, lobster bisque, steak frites. Very good wine selections. Very friendly and excellent service. Try it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“considered yourself warned about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

its just not very tasty. the French dip was hopeless. the vegetables just as bad. couldn't drink enough to wash the taste out of my mouth. I know the Ipad is a funky way to order food, but note to owner. its a café. you come here to eat. I have a computer at home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great, Fun Dining Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Pleasant surprise for after-matinee theater dinner. Nicely decorated cafe/wine bar and fun to order and or play with the individual I-Pads. There were 5 in our group, 3 ordered from the Prix-Fixe offerings. Quite a bargain at $12.99 for 3 courses. They were all satisfied. I had a Caesar Salad and Grilled chicken skewers. Both were good. Two of us split a fried calamari appetizer, also tasty. We shared desserts, chelate lava cake with ice cream and pound cake with strawberry sauce. One surprise was the coffee.......huge cups unlike most restaurants. Even with 2 bottles of wine, our bill didn't break the bank, and our waiter had no problem dividing into 3 checks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great low key place to have some wine and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If your on a first date or out with the kids - this place is awesome - you can sit and use their ipads to order food right from your own table. There is of course a waitress available too. The atmosphere is great for dinner talk, romance, and even good conversation with firends

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Cafe and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.