We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best delicatessen sandwiches south of Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mozzarella Fella

Mozzarella Fella
1668 Main Street, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-366-7600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 852 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Description: Mozzarella Fella is a great place opened lunch in downtown Sarasota just east of Orange avenue. You can watch the owner make fresh Mozzarella, then enjoy it! I ordered a ball of Mozzarella to go and made my own Insalata Caprese when I got home. I also sampled the sausage and peppers which were excellent and a had a connoli which was wonderful.
Lakewood Ranch Fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best delicatessen sandwiches south of Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Almost everything is served with mozzerrela it tastes awesome

Place is a must visit when you're in Sarasota

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    33
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is a Good Fella !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great sandwich place, - quality and attentive staff.
I had the lasagna for lunch that was perfect !

They use Boars Head products. My son loved the bread.
All-in , great find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This is #1 in Sarasota?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited today for lunch after seeing that MF is rated #1 out of 688 in Sarasota. Not sure how this is possible. It's a decent place to be sure and a nice menu but I can think of at least fifteen places far superior in this town.

Definitely southern Italian with a Brooklyn accent, it's a tiny restaurant with limited seating and booming music from Sinatra, Dean Martin and other oldies.

Sandwiches are excellent and service was great with a steady stream of take out orders.

I wish it well. It's a big calorie lunch and quantity could be part of its appeal. We'll come back to give it another try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sandwiches I've found yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It's 11:31pm and I was just about to tell my husband that I can't wait to go to Mozzarella Fella this week and I realized I haven't even reviewed it. I relied heavily on Yelp when I lived in NY. So far I have found it's not so widely used down here in Sarasota, FL. We need to change that. How else are transplants like me going to hear about where to find the best meatball in town? Everything is fresh and made to order. They actually ran out of the special of the day my first time there, at 2 something, and I LOVE that! That tells me their food is made with care, not mass produced for volume. It's a real cutesy little place too. The staff was warm and engaging and made me feel like I had been a customer for years. It's nice to have a tiny slice of New York here in my "new" hometown.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Now that's Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Phenomenal! Best sandwiches anywhere...not just Sarasota.
Best place locally to eat lunch.
Casual. Clean. Neighborhood feel. Family run. The best local produce too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozzarella Fella also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mozzarella Fella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mozzarella Fella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.