We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to get a sandwich .....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mozzarella Fella

Mozzarella Fella
1668 Main Street, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-366-7600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 890 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Mozzarella Fella is a great place opened lunch in downtown Sarasota just east of Orange avenue. You can watch the owner make fresh Mozzarella, then enjoy it! I ordered a ball of Mozzarella to go and made my own Insalata Caprese when I got home. I also sampled the sausage and peppers which were excellent and a had a connoli which was wonderful.
CROMWELL
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The place to get a sandwich .....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have a family rule not to go back to eat at a place twice during our vacation. I could not keep my kids out of "The Fella". All the sandwiches were fresh and tasty. We enjoyed both hot and cold selections. The freshness of the meats, cheeses and veggies were the key. The salads were also family favorites. The menu will meet the desire of the whole family

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    42
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“You'll break somebody's legs just to get in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I just love this place; it takes you back to all the great places in New York and New Jersey, fresh well done food! The family atmosphere makes you feel like a “Made Guy” And Vicky, Mike and Johnnie will have you coming back for sure! So after your next hit, drop in for a piece of home! Mangia!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A slice of NY style perfection served with a side of Sarasota!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Sometimes I really wonder exactly how hard could it be to build a good sandwich. At home it is simple, grab two slices of bread, throw anything you can find between the bread and it's a done deal. When Im out and about finding a good sandwich shop isn't so simple. Mozzarella Fella stands out downtown as one of Sarasota's premier sandwich shops. When I think of italian style sandwiches the first thing that comes to mind is the bread. My biggest fear is finding out that they might use a white loaf of soft tasteless bread, not the case! Their bread tasted extremely fresh and had a nice chew to it which is key. I brought along one of my New Yorker friends to give me his two cents also. He ordered the Veal Cutlet Parmigiana and I had the Veal Cutlet sandwich along with the Antipasto. Before I finished taking pictures of my two dishes he was halfway done with his sandwich. Their veal was extremely tender, moist, and was everything you could ask for besides greasy. It deserves to be mentioned that they do have broccoli rabe which really makes an amazing sandwich! Of all their items on the menu I figured the veal was their most difficult item on the menu to prepare and they nailed it right on the head. I could see looking forward to coming here for lunch just the same as going over my grandmothers house on Sundays for the typical italian feast every week as a child. If Im downtown this will be my go to lunch spot every time. Be warned! This could be habit forming.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Family owned and delicious deli style Italian joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough good about this place...it was family owned and ran and incredibly pleasant to grab lunch. On top of all of that - it is great food. Ww were doing a local art festival so we would go in and order sandwiches for lunch. Hearty and good. Not a wimpy sandwih at all. The antipasta salad was great. All made really fresh and a friendly person taking your order. It is somewhat small but they have tables if eating there and window seats. The decor is great and adds to it. Local articles and memorabilia about Italy and Italian food. Just comfortable and good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fresh & Tasty Italian Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had the meatball parmigiana and the fried eggplant with peppers and mozzarella. The #14 meatball was great with a nice tomato sauce, and a glob of parmesan cheese on a fresh roll for $9 plus tax. The # 2 fried eggplant with peppers, olive oil mozzarella and basil was superb in addition, again a very nice roll, for $7.50 plus tax. There is probably enough places for about 20 people to sit, so they do not take reservations. You can take out some items like eggplant, lasagna and meatballs. The serve beer, soda and water, can't remember if they have wine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozzarella Fella also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mozzarella Fella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mozzarella Fella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.