We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coyne's Pier 28 - CLOSED

Coyne's Pier 28
8201 S Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34238
9419210028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place was recommended to us as we were looking for a good fish restaurant. We were at the Saturday lunch and feeling hungry we decided to try it. It was quiet and we were soon seated and introduced to our server Michelle - she was friendly and helpful giving her suggestions. As others have said the fish was quiet pricey so we ended up with one of the 3 $8 specials - burgers on Texas toast with fries washed down with a very nice glass of Tampa IPA. It was nothing special inside and I can think of better places where to spend that amount of money for one of the fish dishes. What we had though was tasty and excellent value for the money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    32
    21
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner @ Coyne's Pier 28”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It's a little pricy, but the food was very good. We had crabcake sandwiches during happy hour in the bar area and it was reasonable, but if I was going to have dinner there it would probably be reserved for a special occassion. No complaints about the size of the porportions. The atmosphere is nice and it was very clean.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious. Friendly. Fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

There's been a revolving door on this space at Sarasota Square. It seemed a doomed location, and when Pier 28 first opened we feared it wouldn't last. It's a bit pricier than a typical mall restaurant, and we weren't sure it was the right market. Thankfully, we were wrong.

Angels on Horseback appetizer = sea scallops wrapped in Prosciutto. Fabulous. Couldn't be better...albeit a bit steep at $12 for two big scallops. Shrimp & Crawfish tacos for me, Oyster tacos for Mindi - outstanding, and absolutely worth $10 each. With a couple oyster shooters (in a bloody Mary) and a few Stella's, we totaled $60.

Not cheap for Sunday lunch, but everything was perfect. It was busy during an NFL playoff game, and at the risk of showing my age - the 22 year old Budweiser crowd wasn't there and we didn't miss them. It was a good atmosphere, we chatted with everyone around us, and a good time was had by all.

It was our third time there, always in the bar, and always the same positive experience. We'll be back to explore the rest of menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quite enjoyable first experience at Coyne's Pier 28”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I decided to try this new restaurant out after a movie in the AMC theater at the mall. We were quite surprised that at 6:30 PM on a Friday night the restaurant was barely half full while there was a wait for Ruby Tuesday right beside this place. We decided to sit at the very nicely appointed bar for a few beers and some seafood.

The bartender might have been the manager as he was telling different people what to do. He was not only very friendly but very, very helpful with the menu and drinks. My wife got a breaded fish sandwich with potatoes. She loved it, especially the fish. She isn't a big seafood eater but said that the fish was some of the better tasting she has had in quite some time.

My meal was fantastic. I had a seared tuna sandwich with cheese on it as well as a side of fresh vegetables. Every single thing was great! The bun was so good and complimented the tuna perfectly. the seasonings on the fish were great as well. Beer prices during happy hour were $3 a glass for Shock Top. Pretty decent for a more upper scale type restaurant.

This place can get pricy very quickly. We just had sandwiches and a few beers and with tip our bill was in the mid $40 range. Still, service was quite good, atmosphere was great, food was served fresh, fast and was hot and tasted great. This is certainly a place we will return to when we watch movies at the AMC theater! I'm looking forward to trying some of their other dishes. It's disheartening to see all the bad reviews for this new restaurant though. My experience was a big thumbs up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good crab cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Good crab cakes they where little small. The cream of crab soup was really tasty and good. Had the wild berry salad is was just ok. My son had the bone in pork chop with like a Marsala Demi glacé with fresh vegetable a little hard.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyne's Pier 28 also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyne's Pier 28, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.