We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YBB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Start Cafe

Fresh Start Cafe
630 S. Orange Avenue, Sarasota, FL
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 794 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“YBB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

It's yummy beyond belief. Fresh Start, a breakfast/lunch place, offers a great variety of fresh foods combined in creative ways. For omnivores, it's perfect. I'm on a dairy-, gluten-, sugar-free diet, and it's very possible to eat around it there happily. The imaginative menu is augmented by a couple of soups each day. Try the chili with meat from the regular menu; It may be the best you've ever had. Try the Mediterranean platter, the falafel is especially good. Hana grew up in Israel and brings a Mediterranean flair to her cooking.

Beer and wine are available, too.

The menu includes some delicious Israeli breakfast items, such as poached eggs on spinach and rye toast with hollandaise. A side dish of fresh unsweetened fruit gets you off to a lively start to the day.

The cafe is open from 8 to 3. Outside dining on the patio is beautiful, inside is also good for weather extremes. Gas heaters are available outside.

Hana and Rochelle, two experienced restaurateurs from the Northeast, welcome guests as part of their extended family. If you want privacy, there is opportunity for that, too.

The place is dog-friendly outdoors and provides special water bowls and doggie treats. For non-dog people like me, it's fine, since there are no behavior issues while the dogs await while their goodies. Dogs stay on leashes.

Hana is a pastry chef extraordinaire? Walk by the display case and view her culinary works of art, created in muffin form each day at dawn, and you'll see. They taste divine and look even better. The fruit muffins, for example, contain whole slices of fruit. Artful decorations on top tell what's inside. Guess first and then look at the labels.

You can't help but love this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish they had one where I live!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Do I start by saying how every single meal I ate there was better than the meal I had before? Well, I could, but that wouldn't do justice to the occasional music night and the terrific quiche in a pastry puff from the special menu. I was there for one of those music nights and it was FANTASTIC. A breakfast and lunch place, Fresh Start serves really fresh, healthy, tasty food. Soups, salads, sandwiches, breakfast...it's ALL good. Chef Hanna always has something delicious going, and her baked products are delicious with a cup a joe. Give it a try, it's delish!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svenfly2
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place was a great place to sit outside and enjoy a great breakfast. Staff was super friendly and attentive, great with our little kid and kept him busy with crayons and little toys. The food was great, a lot of home cooked goodies and fresh fruit. Coffee was also great. Overall, great cafe for breakfast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fresh healthy & delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This charming little restaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch. There are some very unique items on the menu such as roasted eggplant, goat cheese and olive tapanade sandwich (my favorite). There are also "standards" like turkey sandwiches or grilled cheese. The soups change daily. They are all good, but I have a few favorites that are so delicious that I am disappointed when they are not the specials (hint, hint to the owners!): roasted red pepper, butternut squash, and tomato bisque. They also have salad specials each day that are very good. My 13 year old daughter loves the reuben (she changes it to a turkey ruben). It is pretty small inside - maybe 6 or 7 tables - with some tables under the trees for shade outside. Plenty of off street parking which is a plus for this area. Great service and great food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh Start Indeed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Me and my family of five love this place. The selections available are healthy and delicious. The service is awesome and the experience is always great. Not to mention, they have the playschool plastic chairs and table for the kids with coloring books and play-doh!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Start Cafe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fresh Start Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Start Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.