We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful birdseye view of area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Myakka Canopy Walkway

Myakka Canopy Walkway
Myakka River State Park, Useful for Gps, Sarasota, FL
941-361-6511
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 130 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful birdseye view of area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The climb above the tree tops wasn't quite as high as I expected, though it was a nice view of trees in the park. But climb to the top of the tower (76.1 ft ) and what a view you see - trees and water as far as you can see and not a single hi-rise! How refreshing! A must for anyone who visits the state park, if you can walk stairs.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    68
    30
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tranquil! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A bit of a walk, but fine for most. Excellent views from the top. Definitely worth going to if at Myakka!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The canopy walk allows you to see great views across the park. It's not massively long but it doesn't need to be. Once you get to the other end you are able to climb a tower to experience even better views. It is most certainly very relaxing to take in the scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“was not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

After reading up online, I thought this would be a great day trip down from Tampa, we were a little disappointed. We got there at 12 only to find, the airboat only runs twice a day during summer, :( and then we got to the walkway and it is only a few 100 ft long and the tower is a great view and climb but we didn't see anything. We drove thru the park and the only wildlife we saw was a red deer. Seriously let down by the park, not much for trails and the fact the boat ride was not even an option really put a downer on our day.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota FL
Level Contributor
283 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Lovely and a great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a special treat when you visit the park. Always a great place to take guests to see alligators and birds.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myakka Canopy Walkway also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Myakka Canopy Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myakka Canopy Walkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.