We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful birdseye view of area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Myakka Canopy Walkway

Myakka Canopy Walkway
Myakka River State Park, Sarasota, FL
941-361-6511
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 89 Attractions in Sarasota
Type: Bridges, Observation Decks/ Towers
Attraction Details
North Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful birdseye view of area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The climb above the tree tops wasn't quite as high as I expected, though it was a nice view of trees in the park. But climb to the top of the tower (76.1 ft ) and what a view you see - trees and water as far as you can see and not a single hi-rise! How refreshing! A must for anyone who visits the state park, if you can walk stairs.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    51
    24
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A bit of a walk, but fine for most. Excellent views from the top. Definitely worth going to if at Myakka!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The canopy walk allows you to see great views across the park. It's not massively long but it doesn't need to be. Once you get to the other end you are able to climb a tower to experience even better views. It is most certainly very relaxing to take in the scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“was not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

After reading up online, I thought this would be a great day trip down from Tampa, we were a little disappointed. We got there at 12 only to find, the airboat only runs twice a day during summer, :( and then we got to the walkway and it is only a few 100 ft long and the tower is a great view and climb but we didn't see anything. We drove thru the park and the only wildlife we saw was a red deer. Seriously let down by the park, not much for trails and the fact the boat ride was not even an option really put a downer on our day.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota FL
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Lovely and a great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a special treat when you visit the park. Always a great place to take guests to see alligators and birds.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myakka Canopy Walkway also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Myakka Canopy Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myakka Canopy Walkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.