We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great visit for nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myakka Canopy Walkway

Myakka Canopy Walkway
Myakka River State Park, Sarasota, FL
941-361-6511
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 88 attractions in Sarasota
Type: Bridges, Observation Decks/ Towers
Attraction Details
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great visit for nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Worthwhile nature experience providing close ups for all ages. Easy to get to & easy to spend time. Goood close ups also.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    47
    24
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We camped for 4 days and saw lots of animal: gators, owls, turtles, pigs, racoons, possum. nice bike trails also. the canopy has a great view over the trees.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good glimpse of FL for the whole Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Definitely worth it and a good change of scenery to get up and above the tree tops! The bridge and overlook tower are really neat - well built with stairs and railings - kids would love it too. The walk there is nice, lots of Florida shrubbery, palms, etc, but not overgrown or anything. If you're going in the summer dress light and bring your bug spray.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“NOT FOR TODDLERS ~ MAY BE UNDERWATER IN SEPTEMBER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a lovely, amazing park to visit, with lots of wildlife. However, here are two things to note before you bring your family for a visit.

(1) The airboat ride is NOT FOR TODDLERS. Some "airboat" style trips may be fast and fun, but this quite toodle around the lake for an HOUR is most definitely not a good idea with little ones in tow - every child under 5 was a wreck on our trip, including the ones we brought along!

(2) If you're brining young kids, check out the "BIRD WALK" - we actually got really close to an alligator on this very short, kid-friendly walk (a mile or two away from where you board the airboat tour).

(3) We came excited to go on the canopy walk (and will probably go back and try to see it at some point!) but during the rainy season, the entire walk to the canopy walk can be under water... which is exactly where the gators like to hang out. Had we have known this ahead of time, we may have timed our entire visit for a later month. It's definitely worth calling ahead to see if the canopy walk is under water or not before you go, if you're just going for a day trip.

Otherwise, this is a beautiful, beautiful area of Florida, well worth a visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a view!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a must do if you are in Myaka State Park. The view from the top is awesome and the suspension bridge is a treat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myakka Canopy Walkway also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Myakka Canopy Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myakka Canopy Walkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Myakka Canopy Walkway to your Saves list