We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5730 Gantt Road, (off Clark and I-75), Sarasota, FL 34233 (Formerly Siesta Key East Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Super friendly and professional front desk. Comparable to Ritz staff in terms of desire to be helpful. Whoever did the hiring here did a good job. Rooms clean, roomy, well apportioned. Beds comfortable. Lots of electrical outlets. Shower head actually good. Free breakfast really good with no lines.

3 complaints: 1) The designer who picked the dingy yellow for all the the wall paint should find another profession, 2) I wish they sold adult beverages, and 3) hallways a bit dim and narrow.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear ATT23
Thank you so much for the fantastic review of our hotel! The entire Hotel staff, especially the Front Desk, is ecstatic from your awesome comments. Thank you as well for your thoughts regarding the paint and beverages, we will pass those on to corporate for consideration.
Again, thank you for the awesome comments, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kevin Mazzoni
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
5
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The location is perfect, right off the interstate and minutes from siesta key beach. We had a suite which had two queens and a pull out sofa, the bedroom actually a good deal of space with two closets, two tvs which was great for the kids a kinda too small bathroom but it was very clean, and a food sized mini fridge and coffee maker.
The breakfast was great for our whole family, fresh eggs, actually crisp bacon, muffins, cereal, pancakes, etc and the whole area was kept clean and well stocked.
Overall I would stay here again in a heartbeat! I love holiday inn express ans they've never left me down

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for the 5 star rating on Tripadvisor. I truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay and the high rating that you gave the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. My housekeeping staff does a great job here!!

Glad to hear that the next time you are in the Sarasota area, that the Holiday Inn Express will be your choice for a hotel to stay at.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and give us a high ranking. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We've been coming to Siesta Key for many years and always stay at a motel prior to moving in, This is the best we've been to. Our room had a sitting area, a king bed, two flat screen TVs, a refrigerator, a microwave, and a very comfortable mattress. It was a little pricier than some but worth the extra money. It was also quiet which was an improvement over some we've had. There were toiletries in the bathroom and everything was clean. Management was very welcoming. The free breakfast was typical of these motels but it's always crowded...at least at this time of year. We enjoyed our stay and will be back next year.

Room Tip: We always get a reservation ahead of time which would be helpful in finding the hotel. It is off Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota East. I appreciate the 4 star rating that you gave the hotel. Also very happy to hear that you will be returning to the hotel the next time you are in the area... Great!!!

Also very happy to hear that we are the best, that you have been to since traveling to the Sarasota area.

So thank you for the review, I truly do appreciate it. We hope to see you back the next time you will need a hotel room in the Sarasota area.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a completely serviceable hotel. A few things would be easy fixes, though. First, the rooms are clean but a bit smelly. The sheets cover a mattress pad that at some point must be plastic, so it feels like you are sleeping on a baby mattress. (I don't wet the bed, promise!) Very uncomfortable. There are very few toiletries; no shower cap, glass or mouthwash.

The fitness room has some old equipment, which I would not mind, except there is no mat to use for sit ups or anything; just a hard floor. And the remote for the TV doesn't work.
Most of these things are inexpensive fixes.

Clean and reasonable. Also, no late night food or super decent deliveries. No extra blanket.

Room Tip: the room with a king is a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota East. I appreciate the comments that were made.

Regarding the comments that were made about needing mats in the gym. That is definitely something I can look at. I have not had this request before so I can look into getting a couple of yoga mats.

With regards to the extra toiletries, we do have all that available, it is just of our "Forget Something" program and we have that available behind the front desk.

I do hope that the next time your travels bring you to the Sarasota area, that we will be your first choice for a hotel to stay at. Hopefully than we will be able to "Wow" you with our service and amenties.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel, I do appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week while visiting family in the area. Free breakfast is pretty poor but I guess that's ok because it is free. Coffee is terrible! Couldn't drink it! Guest room was clean and pretty comfortable. Hot water was being serviced and there was no hot water for at least 24 hrs. The water was supposed to be on by 5pm then didn't get back on until the next day and then it was cold.
Overall an ok place.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate the comments that you made in your review. I am sorry though that we did not "wow" you or that you left here feeling this was a hotel that you "loved". It is always our goal to have all our guest leave here feeling this was a "great hotel that guest love"

It is true we have had some hot water issues as of late, we had a couple of pipes burst in the hotel that effected the hot water only. We truly are sorry for all the inconveniences that this caused our guest.

I do hope that if you are in the Sarasota area again, that you would give us another try. I know there are many choices for travlers to make for their hotel needs and it is important to us that we have all our past guest come back.

Thank you for staying with us, I do appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After my hubby and I checked into a disgusting other big chain hotel five miles down the road, we immediately started searching for another hotel. Being that this is Christmas week, much like Mary and Joseph we kept running into "no vacancy." Trouble in paradise.

For whatever reason, there was a little room left here and we jumped on it. The rooms are clean, free wifi, free breakfast, the things you would expect from a Holiday Inn.

I have three reasons I would not give this hotel 5 stars, even by Holiday Inn standards. The hotel is pet friendly, and we are surrounded by yippy dogs. I love my hound dog, but part of going on vacay is NOT dealing with doggie for a week. I would appreciate if the hotel designated one floor for pets so the rest of us traveling sans fido aren't yipped at.

Secondly, the doors do not have that fabulous anti slam contraption that most hotels have (ironically, their stairwells DO have them). Our next door neighbor keeps slamming to his little hearts delight and jarring me out of my nice vacation sleep. Rude. He just so happens to also be one of the yippy dog owners, so the slam has an encore of yips.

Lastly, the cable package is pretty cheesy. No Bravo, Food Network or HGTV. That's a must in all good hotels in my humble opinion.

All of these are super fixable issues for the hotel, and if addresses would turn my four stars into five- by Holiday Inn standards of course.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota. I appreciate the comments and voicing your concerns regarding my hotel.

My apologies for the less than perfect stay. Regarding some of the comments that you noted. I will have my staff look into some of the door closures that are not properly working and get those corrected. I am also changing up some of the television line up and one of the channels that will be added is HGTV and History Channel there are also a couple of other additions that we will be adding to the line up as well.

I do hope that you will visit Sarasota again and that the Holiday Inn Express will be your choice for a hotel to stay and that we will be able to get that 5 star rating from you.

Again, thank you for bringing some of your concerns to my attention, I do appreciate it.

Sincerley
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for a business meeting. It was my second stay and found the staff members to be very helpful. I was recognized as a rewards member and was thanked for my loyalty. Our meeting was held at the hotel and the room worked out great. Having the breakfast in the morning included made it easy to grab a bite to eat before the meeting started and one less thing to expense. The front desk gave us information on St. Armands Circle where we went for dinner. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear SunnySideUp0506;

Thank you for the great review, I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and post it on Tripadvisor.com .

It is always great to hear compliments regarding my staff during your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota East.

Happy to hear that your meeting went well and was successful.

Again, thank you for posting a review of the Holiday Inn Express Sarasota, I truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Randy Paradine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75

Address: 5730 Gantt Road, (off Clark and I-75), Sarasota, FL 34233 (Formerly Siesta Key East Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to beautiful Sarasota, FL for business or pleasure we want to make sure you are relaxed and rejuvenated for whatever adventures you have planned. Come experience the perfect location of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites, convenient to most Sarasota/Venice destinations. Located just 4 miles from Siesta Key and the beaches, we are surrounded by restaurants and shopping but still close to downtown and other area attractions. We offer standard all inside corridor rooms and 1 bedroom suites, king and 2 queen bedded guestrooms all with complimentary WI-FI, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, and last but not least, our HOT , DELICIOUS, DELUXE BREAKFAST is INCLUDED with your stay every day. Relax in our heated pool or hot tub or enjoy fresh brewed coffee and catch the news on our 50" HD TV in the lobby during the day. PETS welcome, ALL NON SMOKING AAA - 3 diamonds approved property. Unsurpassed customer service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Key East Hotel Sarasota
Country Inn Sarasota
Sarasota Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sarasota I-75, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.