We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coquina On The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coquina On The Beach to your Saves list
Coquina On The Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1008 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

It's a little tired but we had a great time. The location is great and parking is easy even if you can't get in the lot. It literally is on the beach. They even offered us a discounted rate for our extended stay. Towels provided for pool and beach. It's a great hidden gem if you don't mind it being a little dated.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    15
    16
    5
See reviews for
56
40
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MD
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had stayed there before, about 10 years ago. This was a last minute getaway in peak season and they had a room by the pool with a beach view for $269/night plus tax. It was clean but very dated. The bed was comfortable and the sleep sofa was fair. There was an odor to the fabric on the sofa. The first night there we saw a huge palmetto bug in the kitchen and could not catch him. So we put every speck of food in the refrigerator. The towels were thin but clean. The beach was great - never had to fight for a chair. They provided a beach towel per person. It is such a great location that I am surprised that they don't do some updating to make it more appealing and to control the bugs. I have been to Florida or the Islands for the past 10 years and this is the first bug I have seen in the hotel! The last night that we were there, there was a group partying around the grills. They were very loud and disruptive until 12:30 in the morning and we had to be up at 5:00 for a flight. Don't think I will return here!

Room Tip: Stay near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had just got off a wonderful and relaxing cruise, but wanted to experience that side of Florida. The weather was cool, but you could still walk on the beach so we wanted someplace that was on the beach that didn't cost a fortune. This is an older motel that has a fresh coat of paint on the rooms to create a more modern feel, but it didn't cut it. We had hope to spend a couple of nights, but the beds were so awful. They were lumpy and squeak with every move. It was so bad that we want to catch the next flight out and go home. When will hotels realize that if the place is clean (which this one was) and provided a great bed to sleep in that their success would be nonstop! You don't have to be the biggest or the fanciest. Just provide these things.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A very nice old time beach motel. Had a wonderful large one bedroom with hide-a-bed in living room, Which we unfolded to watch TV and look at beach and pool right outside door. Has charcoal grills, like the state parks, nice change from all the gas grills. Full kitchen and large full size fridge. Great central air in our unit. Hottest water in the states! Really, you can boil an egg in the bathtub it's so hot. Not complaining, I love hot baths and you can have a real long full tub of hot water. Room darkening curtains. Two entrances. Tile floors. Staff is very sweet and efficient. Maid service daily which is nice, clean towels and beds made up. A great place, and the view is breathtaking at sunset.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

What a great find! Location is perfect. You are literally on the beach. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the two bedroom suite overlooking the ocean and it was perfect. What an excellent Christmas present from my in-laws!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Coquina was a last minute trip. Based on reviews we choose to stay here because it was on the beach, close to St. Armands circle, and 15 minutes from the airport. On all three points this is a five star motel. The room and motel itself is a three star. With older Florida beachfront motels you lower your expectations on what you will find. The room was serviceable and clean but needs serious updating along with the rest of the motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were going to the nearby gulf beach resort, but it was all booked. So we gave it a shot. From the outside it didn't look that great but the room was comfortable. It's halfway between a motel and a beach hotel. The quality is average, but the price is good. I loved the fact that our room was literally on the beach, so we could just stay there a li'l bit after returning from the evening. The location is quite good, you have some places to hang out nearby,even though it's better if you got a car because it's 2 km far from city center, ish. The only downside was that the wifi was not that great, but that may have been because our room was one of the farther.
4 stars because the price is quite good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coquina On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coquina On The Beach

Address: 1008 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coquina On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, old-Florida style beach hotel on Gulf of Mexico with studio and suite efficiencies. Nestled on beautiful Lido Key in Sarasota, FL, just minutes from renowned St. Armanda's Circle and Downtown Sarasota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Coquina On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coquina On The Beach Hotel Sarasota
Coquina On The Beach Sarasota
Coquina Beach Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coquina On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.