We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient property with comfortable common areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area to your Saves list
Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8305 Tourist Center Drive, Sarasota, FL 34201 (Formerly Comfort Suites Sarasota / University Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient property with comfortable common areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This property is near several restaurants, shopping, and other amenities. The common area outside was very comfortable and relaxing. Guest services was helpful and professional whenever I needed anything. The room was equally as comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alb111111, Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me personally on your next stay with us if I can be of any assistance.
Sincerely,

Arlind Lile
Assistant General Manager
Sarasota Courtyard
alile@buffalolodging.com
941-360-2626
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    42
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
26
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

When my colleagues and I arrived to screaming kids running wild in the lobby, we each had a moment of panic. When the front desk staff mentioned there was a baseball tournament staying in the hotel, I was instantly searching for other hotels. Luckily they had an adults only floor reserved for those of us not attending the baseball tournament. The floor was quiet, clean and very comfortable. My room was very clean and well appointed. I enjoyed grabbing a beer in the evenings at the cafe and the healthy breakfast options with Starbucks coffee was a nice surprise.

The hotel is located in an area with a new mall being built and lots of chain dining options. Overall, we enjoyed the proximity to the airport and the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alb111111, Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Please come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Arlind Lile
Assistant General Manager
Sarasota Courtyard
alile@buffalolodging.com
941-360-2626
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch
It’s a Courtyard and designed for the business traveler in mind, as their commercials state. This property lives up to that. Professional staff. Clean, clean, clean. Starbucks is served at the bar area. Fitness center did it’s job for what I needed. That’s cardio and free weights. I appreciated the dumbbells, thanks Marriott.
Room. The room we reserved was nice, clean, and large. It came with 2 queen-sized beds and even a sofa bed. There’s a Pullman type kitchen, mini fridge, microwave and sink. There was also open cabinets and plenty of storage.
Food. They have the basic foods on site, but within 2 miles are restaurants galore, and a full service Starbucks, Publix, Target, yada-yada. Great location and extremely close to I-75 yet we didn’t hear the traffic and were facing I-75.
Pool. Very clean and nice pool furniture. Hot tub worked fine.
Pergola out back with working fireplace and comfortable wicker type chairs; great area to sit back and enjoy a beverage to unwind. It has an auto timer like a hot tub

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alb111111, Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

Arlind Lile
Assistant General Manager
Sarasota Courtyard
alile@buffalolodging.com
941-360-2626
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is my favorite Marriott Courtyard I have ever stayed in... Modern, super clean, friendly and professional stuff. Very impressed by little details they are paying attention to (disinfecting wipes next to TV remote control, ear plugs in the drawer next to the bed, refreshing lemonade next to elevator...). Also great location! Unfortunately I had a chance to stay only 2 nights but I will be back in the future for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear MonikaOKW,

Thank you very much for your time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your words of compliments and noticing small details we put in place to enhance our guests' experience.

We look forward to have you with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Jan Stanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This property should be getting 5 stars but for a few bothersome issues. I almost left 3 stars just for the downers listed below.

First, the positive. This property was purchased from Comfort Suites and renovated in 2012 so the remodel is still somewhat fresh. We were warmly greeted and checked in by Brandon (who I spoke to on the phone the prior day and seemed a bit overwhelmed and put me on hold quite a long time). We are Marriott Gold Elite members so we were upgraded to a junior king and our room was nice with a small sink and fridge. The tiled bathroom is a bit small but the shower was comfortable. After we checked in, our cheap TV remote with taped in batteries did not work. I called the front desk and a young man came up and replaced it right way. These remotes are very cheap and are hard to click through the channels. We stayed here 3 nights and housekeeping did a good job. Small pool, fire pit area (really, a fire pit in Southwest Florida?) and exercise room looked nice but we did not use. The location is right off I-75 in a newer upscale area of North Sarasota/Bradenton convenient to Ringling Museum, beaches, parks, etc. all around 20-30 minute drive. We conveniently walked across the parking lot to World of Beer and got a beer and wine but its primarily a young crowd and very loud with live bands on the weekend. They are building a huge new upscale shopping mall right across the street with Saks Fifth Avenue, Dillard's and Macy's as the anchor stores opening in fall 2014.

Now, the downers. 1.) First, the coffee. The hotel Bistro is a Starbucks monopoly. You cannot get regular coffee at the bistro. Yes, there is coffee in the room made by Royal Cup called Barista which tastes like Starbucks more bolder roast (ashtray), yuk! Plus, the creamers and sugar in the room never lighten or make the coffee taste good. I had to drive 10 minutes each way to the Dunkin Donuts at the Hess station down University past Lockwood Bridge Road each morning just to get coffee! PLEASE management offer a medium or light roast in the Bistro or free in the lobby. 2.) The Bistro itself. This self serve order model doesn't work. Either provide a Continental self serve breakfast or make it full service ordering from the table. The first morning we were there (Saturday) there was a hotel patron trying to make her mind up and continually changing her order being served by 3 Bistro employees. We were running late getting to the beach. Finally, we were served at the counter and the older middle aged woman with dark hair was slow as molasses and seemed flustered with a mini rush. Then, I was forced to buy a Starbucks coffee and threw most of it out later. it took me almost 10 minutes just to get a piece of lemon pound cake and another 5 for an egg sandwich which was not very good. This experience ruined my morning. We never returned to the Bistro the rest of our stay resulting in lost hotel revenue. 3.) Slow/Rude Staff. The aforementioned person in the Bistro seemed unapologetic and unconcerned with her speed or our schedule. Lastly, I had to make a urgent trip to a local pharmacy and excused myself to the mature front desk lady with short gray hair and glasses while she was helping another patron. I asked her where a local pharmacy was located and she got angry and frustrated while snapping at me saying it was down by the Home Depot. Somebody in management there has to tell the Bistro and Front Desk employees they may have to multi-task at times or humbly/politely diffuse a situation. I guess that's what customer service is. 4.) Bed was a bit on the hard side but I still slept well.

Too bad, with some adjustments and changes this place could be 5 stars.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the World of Beer on a high floor away from the elevator. Within the room sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Jbaron02,

I would like to thank you for the comprehensive review of your stay and for bringing up mentioned shortcomings to our attention. We take a great pride in exceptional service and our staff in The Bistro and at the Front Desk has been receiving many compliments for their friendliness and helpfulness.
I would like to apologize that you have not received same exceptional service that you deserve. We have shared your review with our team in both departments and it served as a “wake up call”. They are very sorry they had come as rude and they would like to also extend their apology. Our management team will make sure to use your valued input to improve in quality and speed of the service.
Our remote controls have been selected for sanitary purposes. This is only type that can be safely sanitized after every use to protect our guests.
Starbucks coffee served in The Bistro is only medium and light roast. I apologize if this was not communicated correctly. We will continue to communicate quality concerns with Marriott International.
I sincerely hope that you will give us a second chance and our team will have an opportunity to exceed your expectation in every area.

Sincerely,
Jan Stanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

There are two Marriott Courtyards in this area...the limo driver late at night took us by mistake to the one at the Airport, and insisted his GPS was correct though we knew he was wrong. It was dark and scary out there! But the correct Marriott is easy to find, in the middle of shopping centers and a great location for our 3-night stay.

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and a sufficient size though not overly large, with a decent size fridge, and parking was easy. We walked or drove to breakfast since we didn't quite get the little restaurant/bar area idea in the hotel and it seemed busy. We enjoyed the pool and free newspapers, but it was too hot to make use of the small, attractive courtyard area. Typical Marriott Courtyard-- we'd come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear HappyNY97,

We are happy to hear that you made it to the correct Courtyard and had a chance to experience our friendly and helpful staff. Hopefully, we will see you again in the future and you will have a chance to enjoy our beautiful sundeck with fire pit.

Thank you for your review.

Warm Regards,
Jan Stanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Nice facility close to the Lakewood Ranch sports complex. Convenient to many shops and restaurants. Several within walking distance. Friendly staff with great recommendation s for local beaches and restaurants. A great central spot in Lakewood/Sarasota.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Jill D,

Thank you very much for your time to review our hotel and friendly staff. Please come again when you are back in the area.

Sincerely,

Jan Stanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area

Address: 8305 Tourist Center Drive, Sarasota, FL 34201 (Formerly Comfort Suites Sarasota / University Park)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel, featuring 134 spacious suites, a refreshing lobby experience with Bistro and spaces for working or relaxing. Your rate includes a heated pool & hot tub, high speed wireless internet access, fitness center, 24-hour business center, 100% non-smoking, parking, HBO, ESPN and 24 hour coffee service. Suites feature pillow top mattresses, 2 phones, LCD flat screen TV’s, radio/alarm with MP3 connection, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, iron/iron board, hair dryer and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Sarasota / University Park Hotel University Park
Comfort Suites University Park
University Park Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.