We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area to your Saves list
Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8305 Tourist Center Drive, Sarasota, FL 34201 (Formerly Comfort Suites Sarasota / University Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

6 of us stayed stayed here for 4 nights in March on and it was a great location in being close to rt75 (North to Bradenton) and taking Univ Dr into Sarasota. Great Shopping Center across the street with a Total Wines Store The staff here is great-from the front desk to the breakfast crew. Rooms were very comfortable and very large. Outside fire pit was great!
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had 229-it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Ruckbar,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. We are very happy that you had a comfortable stay and had a chance to interact with our great team. We are looking forward to welcome you back!
Sincerely,
Jan Stanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    42
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
26
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
staffs, u.k.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed one night because we knew the location was within walking distance of shops and restaurants. There are the usual chains but also some quite upscale eating places such as Apollonian and Carmel Cafe.
Hotel was great, large room, nice public area and very helpful staff. Outside sitting area with fire pit was especially nice and we took our breakfast out there
This is a great hotel for an overnight stop or even a few days as you can be in downtown Sarasota in 15 mins and beaches in another 10.

Room Tip: Some rooms face World of Beer pub so might get some late night noise. We asked for a quiet room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for your time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very proud of our fire pit area and it makes us very happy when we hear such a nice comments.

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Jan Stanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with kids and really enjoyed our stay - only downside was that it was about 20 minutes drive from beach, but we knew that before booking. On plus-side, you wouldn't get this quality for the price anywhere near any of the beaches. We had a very big room, with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed! The hotel was spotless, service was very friendly and the kids loved the free lemonade on offer in the lobby during the day - which was very tasty!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Thomas S,

Thank you for your great review. Our team strives to provide friendly, clean and safe environment for our guests and we are very happy you had a chance to experience it. If your travels bring you back we would love to have you with us again.

Sincerely,
Jan Stanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I live in the area, and stay at this hotel whenever we are going to an event at the nearby World of Beer. We usually don't want to risk driving after having fun over at WOB, so it's convenient to just walk over to Courtyard. The rates are usually good. The staff is always professional and courteous...so much so that I always drive up and reserve in person rather than calling for reservation. When you call to reserve a room, you deal with a separate company or division, and they are rarely, if ever friendly. So, I'd rather come in to speak with the smiling and hospitable front desk help. That's a testament to the professionalism here. Anyhow, on to the rooms. They are clean. And the mattresses...those mattresses are EXTREMELY comfortable. I can sleep for hours on those beds. My husband and I enjoyed those mattresses so much that we looked up how we could purchase them for our own home lol!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Ariane H,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our Courtyard by Marriott. We are very happy to hear you had enjoyed our beds and had a comfortable good night sleep. Thank you for mentioning our hospitable and friendly staff. We are very proud of their hard work.
Please let me know if you need any assistance in getting the brand and type of the mattresses. I will be happy to help.
Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Jan Stanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while "on the road". The room we had, with a kitchen area, did not have an efficient layout for someone who did not need use of the kitchen facilities. Also problematic, as has been previously reported on Trip Advisor, no parking in the immediate courtyard area was available after arriving back to the hotel after dinner in downtown Sarasota. Breakfast service concluded promptly at the end of the scheduled period and limited offerings were found close to closing time

Room Tip: book a room close to one of the access doors to avoid a possible long walk from oveflow parking area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Rich G,

Thank you for your time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations in regards to layout of our rooms and lack of parking spaces in the courtyard area. This area typically fills out first however, our guests have a plenty of parking spaces available in other areas surrounding the hotel.
We have already addressed your concern with breakfast service and we will make sure that same offerings are available for the entire duration of breakfast hours.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you with us again in the future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine FL
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed for two nights this last week in a king suite and everything was great.

Check-in was fast, the staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfy. The room had a nice size refrig and microwave.

Nice location with lots of nice restaurants close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Gregbooras,

Thank you for taking time to review our Courtyard by Marriott. We are happy to hear about your positive experience and we look forward to have you with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jan Stanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

While the outdoor firepit is great and the pool is nice with lots of sun paying over $200 per day including tax seems a bit much for a Courtyard. The rooms are of the old Courtyard layout and of course they have changed the way breakfast is done so a family of three had to spend $33 for a basic breakfast.

While the whistles and bells are nice you still have to sleep in your room.

Location is right off I 75 which is good and there is a fantastic place to run about one mile to the south - looks like a man-made lake where the World Rowing Championships are to be held in 2017.

Lots of places to dine nearby.

Room Tip: 4th floor is nice and quite (#342)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstanek, General Manager at Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Carl R,

Thank you for your review of our Courtyard by Marriott University Park. We are very happy you were able to enjoy our beautiful pool and fire pit area. Our nightly rate is reflecting local seasonality, our convenient location and is very competitive with other hotels in the area. I’m sure you will find our rate more attractive outside of the high season. Every room in the hotel is a studio suite equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and wet bar. They are larger and unique compare to typical Courtyard room. Nathan Benderson Park is an excellent place not just for rowers and water sports. As you had discovered, it is a perfect place for a running, biking, or just a stroll with family. We can wait for its full completion. Thank you again and hope to have you with us in the future.
Best Regards,
Jan Stanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area

Address: 8305 Tourist Center Drive, Sarasota, FL 34201 (Formerly Comfort Suites Sarasota / University Park)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel, featuring 134 spacious suites, a refreshing lobby experience with Bistro and spaces for working or relaxing. Your rate includes a heated pool & hot tub, high speed wireless internet access, fitness center, 24-hour business center, 100% non-smoking, parking, HBO, ESPN and 24 hour coffee service. Suites feature pillow top mattresses, 2 phones, LCD flat screen TV’s, radio/alarm with MP3 connection, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, iron/iron board, hair dryer and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Sarasota / University Park Hotel University Park
Comfort Suites University Park
University Park Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Sarasota University Park/Lakewood Ranch Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.