We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Entertainment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Studio Theatre

Florida Studio Theatre
1241 North Palm Avenue, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-366-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 88 attractions in Sarasota
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Florida Studio Theatre (FST) is one of the major cultural resources in the Gulf Coast region, bringing the best in Contemporary plays, musicals, and comedy to the Sarasota community since 1973. An Equity theatre, the FST campus is a village of theatres - the historic Keating and Gompertz Theatres,the Parisian style Goldstein Cabaret and the new John C. Court Cabaret. In January 2014 we opened our fifth venue, The Bowne Lab Theatre. Near the Sarasota bayfront, FST brings an energy and vitality to the downtown area. Each theatre is small in size and large in impact - providing an intimate and engaging setting for high-quality, professional performances. Hip and historical, entertaining and challenging, we are the theatre where the street meets the elite, where everyone is welcome to come and engage in the art of theatre.FST has modeled itself on the strength of creating the best in contemporary theatre at an affordable price. Overall, FST serves over 160,000 attendees per year through its major programs: the Mainstage Series, the Cabaret Series, WRITE A PLAY, Education, and New Play Development.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We attended Urban Cowboys and you couldn't ask for better music and singing. Loved it! The venue is cabaret style with no bad seat in the house except for tables at the side and front where posts may obstruct the view. Good thing about these particular seats is proximity to the stage. When we return our preferred seating will be balcony or booths along the back wall. There is a parking garage within easy walking distance of the theater.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    27
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osprey, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Professional theater at very good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have a subscription to the mainstage program, which gives us four plays for less than $15/each. Terrific value. Seating is a little cramped at the Keating Theater, but the Gompertz Theater is very roomy and there is not a bad seat in the house. This is intimate theater. Even in the back row, you are close to the stage. Frequently, the plays take on controversial subjects. Even when we are not crazy about a play, the acting is generally top rate.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great theater great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is what local troupe theatres are supposed to be. Intimate, offbeat, and local talent at it's best. The shows are very ecclectic here so I wouldn't presume to say if you would like any particular show but I take my aging mother here all the time and she loves the intimacy of the theatre. The ticket prices are very reasonable for those wanting a theatre experience on a budget and the location is easy to access. We love the matinees as well. I have also been here many times with my daughter. Families are very welcome here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Columnist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This play was performed in the Keating Theatre. A small intimate theatre. The cast did an excellent job and as usual we really liked it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An Absolute Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have seen numerous cabaret shows at FST over the past five years, and they have been uniformly excellent. FST offers remarkable talent at a remarkably low price in a lovely and well managed venue. Most recently FST's Urban Cowboys was a country music review that mixed great music with humor in perfect balance. FST would be a great bargain at twice the price. Sarasota has a wonderful array of cultural opportunities for a city of its size. FST ranks very high among them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Studio Theatre also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Florida Studio Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Studio Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Florida Studio Theatre to your Saves list