We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great theatre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Studio Theatre

Florida Studio Theatre
1241 North Palm Avenue, Sarasota, FL 34236
+1 941-366-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 49 Attractions in Sarasota
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florida Studio Theatre (FST) is one of the major cultural resources in the Gulf Coast region, bringing the best in Contemporary plays, musicals, and comedy to the Sarasota community since 1973. An Equity theatre, the FST campus is a village of theatres - the historic Keating and Gompertz Theatres,the Parisian style Goldstein Cabaret and the new John C. Court Cabaret. In January 2014 we opened our fifth venue, The Bowne Lab Theatre. Near the Sarasota bayfront, FST brings an energy and vitality to the downtown area. Each theatre is small in size and large in impact - providing an intimate and engaging setting for high-quality, professional performances. Hip and historical, entertaining and challenging, we are the theatre where the street meets the elite, where everyone is welcome to come and engage in the art of theatre.FST has modeled itself on the strength of creating the best in contemporary theatre at an affordable price. Overall, FST serves over 160,000 attendees per year through its major programs: the Mainstage Series, the Cabaret Series, WRITE A PLAY, Education, and New Play Development.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Professional Theatre seen in small venues..like off Broadway. Always terrific productions, and the intimacy makes the experience special. Interesting plays, well done! And..the price is right! 3 venues at FST!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraL_FST, Public Relations Manager at Florida Studio Theatre, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi Carolyn! We're really glad you enjoy your experience at FST! Did you know that we now have four theatre venues and are expanding next year to five? You'll have to come and check out the new spaces and gives us your thoughts, we'd love to have your feedback. Also, make sure to try out our new café & bar, The Green Room. It's open for both pre-show dining and post-show cocktails & light bites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    35
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Kept Secret in Sarasota!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We LOVE FST...Quality plays and Cabaret shows. The actors are professionals, the shows are always entertaining and well done, the staff is most accommodating and the value is outstanding!
For the money it is the most for your dollars for sure.
Would like to see more young people at these shows so if your reading this, know you are missing great entertainment....come join us long time season members!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraL_FST, Public Relations Manager at Florida Studio Theatre, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello Michael, thanks for your feedback - we promise our presence in Sarasota IS growing. We just hit our goal for subscriptions and are still getting calls daily. I love your comment "Would like to see more young people at these shows so if your reading this, know you are missing great entertainment....come join us long time season members!"
It's wonderful to hear from our longtime supporters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Confusing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have been a couple of times and I still have not figured out what theater shows what. And both times the entertainment has been better than amateur but 2 or 3 steps down from professional - like watching a high school game vs. the pros.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“So run down-”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just so run down and very disorganized. The festival (Improv) was nothing like what we expected.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

From shows to children's programs, FST is a gift to our community.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Florida Studio Theatre, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you back at the theatre soon for the best in contemporary theatre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Studio Theatre also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Florida Studio Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Studio Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.