We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burns Court Cinemas

Burns Court Cinemas
506 Burns Lane, Sarasota, FL 34236
941 955-3456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 130 Activities in Sarasota
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
Attraction details
Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Quaint and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Not only does Burns Court feature some great indie and foreign movies, it has beer and wine to go with your popcorn! Nice cozy theatres in a super little neighborhood of locally-owned shops and restaurants. Not a place to take the kids.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    40
    11
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small intimate theatre- Beer and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great films that miss the big marquees. Enjoy a glass of wine or beer and then walk next door to Owens Fish Camp for dinner
No loud kids, cell phones or texting

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great movies, small venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The theatre is very small but they get the best flicks.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have been members of the Sarasota Film Society for about 20 years. Art movies are very important to us. Their 3 screen theater offers some great stuff

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL USA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Films, Problem Theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I'm glad we have an art film house in Sarasota, and do my best to support it, but the sound system is AWFUL and the insulation between the three theaters in this complex is iffy. If the movie you're seeing is in the middle theater, chances are, you'll hear all three. I realize this is a historic building, and its landmark status might prevent adequate updating, but hearing what is being said by the acors on the screen id tough. If it's nit a foreign film, which has subtitles, I get a hearing device. Although there's nothing wrong with my hearing, I want to know what the actors are saying!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burns Court Cinemas also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Burns Court Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burns Court Cinemas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.