We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a discovery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe

Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe
1646 10th Way, Sarasota, FL 34236
(941)366-1505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 112 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This amazing troupe does their performances in an intimate factory-turned-theatre with seating for about 100-150. You are never more than five rows from the artists. And what a SHOW! It's a "don't miss" in SRQ!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Talent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The WCBT never fails to delight. The talent in each of the performances in amazing. We always leave feeling like we have seen a show comparable to Broadway.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Talent and great energy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I always have a good time when I go see a show here. The talent is deep and it is nice to see some of the younger participants being groomed for the future. New location added a lot and is spacious and comfortable. I like to reward the efforts and energy by visiting often.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

You're in for a treat no matter what show you choose to attend. The energy of the performers is amazing and the talent they display is off the charts. The house is small, which makes for a lovely and more intimate theater experience. The seats, however, are straight-backed chairs arranged on risers & not at al One of the most delightful aspects of every performance is the reception line. As you leave the theater, the performers line up to shake your hand and thank you for attending the show. There is something quite magical about meeting and thanking an actor who has provided you with a few hours of joy and wonder.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I went with friends to see "Bubbling Brown Sugar". I was amazed at the talent of each and every one of the performers. The venue is intimate and you really feel part of the production. Friendly place, with 5 star talent!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westcoast Black Theatre Troupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.