We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schnitzel Kitchen

Schnitzel Kitchen
6521 Superior Ave, Sarasota, FL 34231
941-922-9299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Here in Sarasota it is our pleasure to present to you authentic German food at our quaint restaurant. The owner is from Berlin, so you get to enjoy not only the food but also the culture. Wir wünschen Guten Appetit!
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I live in Manhattan and visit Sarasota see my mother who for years has dragged us to local restaurants that are "as good as anything in New York." We have had some okay meals, but find that most are not "as good as anything in New York," even though they charge the same prices. My mother's loyalty to local Sarastoa business is commendable, but we travel to see her, not to experience the latest example of Brooklyn working class chic, or noisey hipster hilarity.

It was therefore a very welcome surprise to find the Schnitzel Kitchen (and "find" is key--as others have noted, it's in one of the area's endless strip malls and would be impossible to locate if you didn't know exactly where you were going--which we didn't). Mom had eaten there a few times before, and this time the raves were justified. The food was extremely well prepared, generously portioned, and the service genuinely friendly without being intrusive or smarmy. We especially appreciated that even though we were one of only 2 tables of guests that evening we were not rushed and all our questions were graciously answered.

We look forward to returning and trying other dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Never lets you down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here since they opened over a year ago. The owner who is also the head chef hails from Berlin. She certainly makes a terrific potato pancake! We've had most every dish on the menu from sauerbraten to veal and pork schnitzel and they have been excellent. Located in the Gulf Gate section south of Clark Road and east of Tamiami Trail (highway 41), the restaurant is easy to find. Serving staff is excellent and knowledgeable about food preparation and can recommend what wine complements an entree. There is a fairly good selection of imported German beer as well as an on tap draft. Desserts are homemade and tasty......try the apple streusel with ice cream.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The only German restaurant in Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you have ever travelled to Germany...the food preparation is as close as you get without being in Germany...The menu is perfect..not too many options....this is not a restaurant trying to fix
German food...it is authentic...Service is outstanding...Great selection of beers and the
wine selection is small but good.
Location is a bit hard to find..but well worth the effort
Being Sarasota residents it is wonderful to highly recommend to the Sarasota community a
outstanding restaurant to visit and for tourists, especially over on Siesta Key area..a quick drive

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, FL
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Schnitzel and Sauerbraten at the Schnitzel Kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I first read about this restaurant in one of the many tourist pamphlets available in hotels and resorts. Though we visit this area often I had never heard of it. Like many restaurants in Florida, it's located in a mall area. The tables have beautifully varnished wood tops and the whole place is rather attractive with German music softly playing in the background.

I had read on TA that reservations are a good idea and I followed that suggestion, but there were just two tables of customers in the restaurant when we arrived on a Friday night in late April. The tourist/snowbird season is winding down now, so perhaps that's the explanation.

My husband ordered sauerbraten and got two big, thick hunks of the meat along with red cabbage. I had schnitzel and it, too, was quite large. We brought the leftovers home for lunch another day. Service was good and quick. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We tried Schnitzel Kitchen for the first time last night, and overall were very pleased. We didn't have reservations and had to wait about 15 minutes for a table (which, with no bar and a very small waiting area, was awkward). It's a small place, but it seemed as if they could have used one more server or busser; the two servers seemed a bit overworked, and the service suffered a bit as a result (though they were both very pleasant). Once we were seated and served, we relaxed and enjoyed a delicious dinner. Both meals we ordered (wiener schnitzel and sauerbraten) were excellent. In season, reservations are probably good idea, as well as for a larger group. Guten Appetit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schnitzel Kitchen also viewed

 
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Schnitzel Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schnitzel Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.