We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible outing with Capt. Kevin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CB's Saltwater Outfitters

CB's Saltwater Outfitters
1249 Stickney Point Rd, Sarasota, FL 34242
941-349-4400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 130 Activities in Sarasota
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: CB's Outfitters offers Boat Rentals and Fishing Charters on Siesta Key and specializes in retail sales. We carry top brands in sun clothing, hats, accessories, shoes & sandals, sunglasses, and much more. Proudly serving Sarasota since 1959, CB's is a must visit destination for boating, fishing, and beachwear.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredible outing with Capt. Kevin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Came in on short notice but was able to schedule a boating charter through CB's. They lined us up with a pontoon boat and Captain Kevin. He was great, answering all our questions, explaining to the kids what kinds of critters we were seeing, both in and out of the water. We had a great time, he really knew his stuff and was down-to-earth. Next time we are down I plan on chartering him for a fishing trip, no doubt we will fill the cooler.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The perfect group fishing excursion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was one incredible fishing trip with Captain Kelly! We had a group of 4 people on the 4 hour fishing excursion that started at 8:00 AM. Our captain was prompt and prepared for handling 4 inexperienced anglers prone to lots of line tangles and knots! The water was calm and the fish were biting! Overall we caught dozens of fish and the captain filleted our prize catches for us upon our return resulting in one delicious dinner! We can't stress enough the patience and experience Captain Kelly had with us and would highly recommend taking this trip no matter what your experience level is.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Awesome day with Capt.Kelly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We started our journey about 7:30 am ( a little tough convincing the kids to get up on spring break that early!) at CB'S dock. Kelly Stillwell was our captain, and a local guide of 20+ years, and looked remarkably similar to Tom Selleck.... I have to say though, his fishing expertise were far superior to Tom Selleck's acting ability!! We fished all the secret fishing holes, and WHACKED the trout, red fish up to 32" and several large snook!! My arms were like jelly from reeling in all the fish!!
The weather was superb as well, 76 degrees and abundant sunshine!!

Upon the completion of our fishing excursion, we bid farewell to our gracious captain, and went inside the quaint store for some afternoon shopping. We were greeted by friendly staff with an extensive knowledge of the products they carry. One of the owners, I believe his name was Mason, went out of his way to introduce himself, explained all the activities they offer from fishing, jet skiing, rental boats, parasailing, scooter rentals and much much more, and made sure all our needs we're satisfied! CB'S Saltwater Outfitters is an A+ establishment, and you can tell the second you walk through the doors! This place is very family oriented and a must visit for any person/family visiting Siesta Key or it's surround areas!

PS: CB's also just opened a beach themed store two doors down... A must see as well. I believe the name is "Island outfitters"

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good day on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Capt. Terry Simmons was great. He was very knowledgeable of the area and the waters. He was also very friendly and had lots of patience. He took out my 2 kids (ages 12 and 15), my wife and I.
My kids had very little experience in salt water fishing. He made sure that everyone knew what they should be doing to be successful on the water. Everyone caught fish. We caught spanish mackerel, lady fish, jacks. The price was very reasonable for a half day charter. Terry has a newer boat with nice gear to match and knows how to use it. I would definitely consider using his service again.
Thanks Terry!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great day out on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We really enjoyed our day yesterday out on the waters of Sarasota. We went to Bird Key and all around the intercoastal on a rental pontoon boat. The price was right. The beer was cold and the service friendly. They give you a map so you can find your way around and point out places to view wildlife. We visited a small island and pulled the boat up to shore so we could swim. We stopped for lunch at a place recommended by them as well.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CB's Saltwater Outfitters also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to CB's Saltwater Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CB's Saltwater Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.