We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for three weeks!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Regency Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Regency Inn & Suites
4200 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Rotherfield, East Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stayed for three weeks!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was able to negotiate a weekly rate, which made it very good value for money. It has a good location, on the Tamiami, a few minutes from downtown Sarasota. A large two room suite with a TV in each room with basic cable. All rooms were very clean. Kitchette for cooking, plus large fridge/freezer and microwave, coffee maker. Cleaners came in daily, to change bedding and fresh towels. Good water pressure for shower. Free Wi-fi in rooms. I visited the pool which was clean, but a little noisy from a compressor and the road! Very friendly and helpful staff
Downsides - not many really - no kettle for making tea.
Will come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Como 061
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

For the price this hotel is fantastic. Freshly refurbished roomy suites, great bed and crisp white bedding, 5 minute drive to the hussle and bussle of the city, easy access to beaches and plenty of shops and restaurants very close by. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greytown, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked the Regency at the last minute and got a great price of $59. We got a friendly welcome and were shown to our 'suite'. This is an older motel/hotel, 2 levels with onsite parking, it appears it is being refurbished. We had a separate bedroom with a very comfortable kingsized bed, bathroom with a shower over the bath and a small living room/kitchen.
The suite was clean and any small issues we had were quickly taken care of.
A couple of small things: The kitchen was sparsely stocked, it would be challenging to cook a meal in it and the microwave was high up on top of the fridge...anyone below 5'6" would struggle to use it safely. No tea was available - they don't stock it. The shower curtain wasn't water proof and the shower pressure was amazing...the result - a very flooded bathroom each time the shower was used. The ironing board was impossible to close and the iron put marks on the shirt being pressed...both the iron and board were replaced for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an older motel in downtown Sarasota. It is very reasonably priced and convenient location to downtown with very large, spacious suites fitted with full kitchens, TV's in both rooms and very clean. I was most impressed with the staff who were professional and helpful. I would always rather stay in a place like this that has personality and feels real, as opposed to a cookie-cutter hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

At first glance, this quaint little mom and pop type motel appears to be in a bad neighborhood and that was enough for me to drive right on by to another place. I'm sorry I did. After a week at the other place, a most horrible week, I decided to come here. The owner was very up front about his concerns for the area, and explained to me all of the security precautions he takes to keep his property clean and safe. I have a one bedroom suite which includes a full kitchen. I couldn't be happier with my little "apartment".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've stayed at this motel three years in a row, for several days each visit. From the first year I was impressed with the friendliness of the owner and staff. Very accommodating. The room was LARGE...actually an apartment size. It had a spacious living room with a full kitchenette...by that, I mean a full stove/oven, a full-size refrigerator, a microwave, a 10-cup coffee maker, dishes, utensils, and tons of cabinet space. There was a separate area for luggage and for hanging clothes, a safe, a full bathroom, and a bedroom with a massive king-sized bed, dresser and nightstands (some rooms have a larger bedroom with two double beds, and a smaller living room...so just ask for your preference). On my recent visit, they had painted the entire apartment...very decoratively...and put in a new couch, new coffee maker, and basically upgraded things to where everything seemed new. They even put in a flat-screen t.v. in the bedroom, in addition to the t.v. in the living room. They seem to be making constant upgrades to the entire property, including landscaping. Very impressive. In addition, they have a spotless pool and pool area, several picnic tables & benches around the property, a coin-operated washer & dryer and an ice machine. And, they're located close to the airport and to town, as well as very near restaurants, convenience stores, etc. Great centralized location. They're as friendly and accommodating as ever. Moderate prices for a great product, and for anyone on a budget. And, it's independently owned and operated, which gives it a personal touch. There are some questionable types that walk the street at night, but the owners keep an eye out for that and keep the property safe. Fortunately, the office, pool and parking lot separate the rooms from the street, which gives a nice separation. Thumbs up to a great operation.

Room Tip: It's a 2-level building. So, you can stay on the street level or on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 weeks on our first visit and 3 days on our second visit. I was pleased with the clean rooms,full kitchen,satellite TV and the staff was very accommodating from management to the very attentive housekeeping staff. When in Sarasota I will indeed stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn & Suites

Address: 4200 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 well appointed rooms with large fridges & microwaves, 20 suites with one bedroom living room, kitchen with a full size kitchen all newly renovated in 2010. walking distance to nearby area attractions, colleges, airport & 5 minutes drive to beaches & downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Regency Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.