We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, beautiful people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofrito Mama's

Sofrito Mama's
935 N. Beneva Rd. Suite 613, Sarasota Commons Plaza, Sarasota, FL 34232
+1 941-554-8786
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 852 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: At Sofrito Mama's you will find mouth watering, home-style Puerto Rican cuisine. Our menu is filled with a wide array of reasonably priced, traditional meals for the entire family from fried appetizers, rice & beans, roast pork & stews, salads, to signature specialty dishes & delicious homemade desserts. Whether it's lunch or dinner, Sofrito Mama's Latin Comfort Food is just what you need to tickle your hunger fancy.
sarasota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, beautiful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've been eating here for over a year, for good reason. The selections are cooked well and are delicious. The owners know how to treat a customer. The entire experience is positive! I highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    30
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food made with love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stopped in for lunch and was pleasantly surprised by a restaurant in the strip mall. I got the Tuesday one special with rice and chicken and it was very very good. it was full of flavor the fried plantains were delicious touch and I would recommend anyone stop in and eat. the only drawback with two small tables outside to sit and eat otherwise you have to take it and go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mmm, sooo delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Alicia & Jason(owners/operators) are very friendly & welcoming. Best place for a quick stop n go for Superior Latin Cuisine for all to enjoy.
Always a stop for me when I'm in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Number 1 in Sarasota for good reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We HAD to try the number 1 rated restaurant in Sarasota and were not disappointed! We were greeted by Jason and Alicia who welcomed us like old friends. The food was hands down the best Latin food we have ever had. I ordered the roast pork,it was tender, flavorful, with just the right amount of spices, it came with choices of rice, and salads. I ordered plantains, soooo good. The portions? Just look at my photo! My fiance had a the best Cuban ever, bar none. Everything is freshly made to order. Take out or outdoor seating only. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“As advertised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As others have said, friendly people and good food.

We were greeted when we walked in and offered culinary explanations and suggestions. The best thing I can say is that the food took me back to my days living in Spanish Harlem. It is both authentic and delicious.

It would be nice if their was a formal sitting area and some nice puerto rican rums etc. I must believe this is on their road map.

I strongly suggest anything that involves the yellow rice with olives.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofrito Mama's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sofrito Mama's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofrito Mama's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.