We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofrito Mama's

Sofrito Mama's
935 N. Beneva Rd. Suite 613, Sarasota Commons Plaza, Sarasota, FL 34232
+1 941-554-8786
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: At Sofrito Mama's you will find mouth watering, home-style Puerto Rican cuisine. Our menu is filled with a wide array of reasonably priced, traditional meals for the entire family from fried appetizers, rice & beans, roast pork & stews, salads, to signature specialty dishes & delicious homemade desserts. Whether it's lunch or dinner, Sofrito Mama's Latin Comfort Food is just what you need to tickle your hunger fancy.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic and amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Very tasty and authentic Puertorican cuisine!! Lovely owners as well! The variety on the menu will make your mouth water instantly! Not to mention a couple of Maltas India and some Oscar de Leon on the radio and you are in heaven!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    30
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Put a HUGE smile on my families face!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My step daughter spent many summers in Puerto Rico with her Mothers family and it is her favorite kind of food! I suprised her last night by bringing home a few of her favorites and she was THRILLED! The owners are personable and helpful in educating you if you are unfamiliar so don't let that stop you for one second! Every plate had a generous portion of meat, they have 3 different types of rice/beans and we had tostones or they offer a few types of cold salads too. A lot of food for the price! We had a Roast pork, Chicken stew and Ropa Vieja and ALL 3 of us had lunch for today from the left overs! Tres Leches Cake is to die for!!! It is a definite GO TO place!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Thing in the Neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you guys are just cruising around Fruitville or Beneva trying to decide where to eat Sofrito Mama's is your surest bet for a tasty, well priced meal provided by the awesome owners themselves. I am a regular there and can't say enough good things about it. Everything is always fresh and the portions are terrific. Some of these platters could easily be shared by two people, except they are so good no one wants to share. I worry about cleanliness at some places in town, but not at this one. Another amazing feature is their varied menu. If you haven't had Puerto Rican cuisine yet, WHAT THE HECK ARE YOU WAITING FOR! Oh, and by the way, every third Saturday they are having a Latin Bash usually from 10pm to 2 am with their delicious food, music and good company all for a very low price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Large helping of good food for the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

You can tell Jason likes his food and goes out of his way for his customers. Thoroughly explained various dishes and Puerto Rican food in general. Steered us into a delicious dish of roast pork and rice and black beans. Even went next door to get us some fresh jalapeños. Food was plentiful and delicious. Only reason I cannot give them the maximum score was that this is mostly a takeaway place and eating out of styrofoam containers leaves a bit to be desired, even though we ate on site. Perhaps they can incorporate disposable dishes or something for those who eat on site. Also the food temperature was not hot enough to bring out the full flavor.
Nonetheless I would love to try additional dishes next time around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofritoMamas, Owner at Sofrito Mama's, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Maxtraveler, thank you for your review & honest opinion. So glad to hear that you were satisfied enough with our little piece of the world to come back for a second visit. I can't promise you a better atmosphere at this time but in the future as we grow we will be expanding into a larger facility. Then we will be able to provide a more comfortable indoor dining area. We certainly don't like to lose the business of those looking to sit inside and dine, but we also don't want to sink ourselves with a large overhead until we grow our customer base to support indoor dining. So, your review and those like it will help push that idea along a lot faster. Again we sincerely thank you for posting and helping us get our name out to the public. See you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville, MI
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in a Sarasota strip mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Keep driving right on by all the fast food and chain restaurants in this area. Sofrito Mamas is a small carry-out place in a shopping plaza. Kind of difficult to locate, but well worth the effort. We had a good sized group of extended family, but found enough seating on the sidewalk tables.

The food is very well seasoned, with generous portions. Everything we ordered was excellent. However, the beef stew served with beans and rice was my favorite. Excellent sweet plantains (plata no maduro) as well.

The owners are friendly, personable, and helpful! We are obviously not Puerto Rican, but they were more than happy to help with ordering suggestions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofrito Mama's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sofrito Mama's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofrito Mama's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.