We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Peruvian in Downtown Sarasota with On-Site Brewery and Artfully Prepared Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darwin's on 4th

Darwin's on 4th
1525 4th Street, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-343-2165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Darwin's on 4th is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 819 restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Peruvian in Downtown Sarasota with On-Site Brewery and Artfully Prepared Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I went here on a date night while on vacation in Florida. He had found it originally through great reviews on Yelp and since this was our first time to Sarasota, we decided to give it a try. We are so glad we did! The night began with cocktails at the bar. I had a pisco sour and he had the beer sampler from the on-site brewery. Everything was amazing. Once our table was ready, we perused the menu and our very-attentive server helped choose some wonderful appetizers. Since everything looked incredible, we decided to order two apps and split the entree. We tried the asparagus tacos (sounds crazy but they were unbelievable) and the tuna tiradito (sushi-grade tuna slices interspersed with watermelon - off-the-charts great). For dinner, we split the cod (wonderful) and for dessert we had the Tumbao pot of mousse, which was excellent. Wonderful, romantic atmosphere and there was even a DJ that came in later in the night. Definitely highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    116
    68
    23
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local Beer and Peruvian Cuisine: A Perfect Match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place was amazing! They were so accomodating to our large group that included two toddlers. Their selection of house crafted beer (the lemongrass was our fave) to the array of ceviche's. This place couldn't have been more perfect and it's definitely worth the price. FYI: the service is absolutely outstanding, and the lobster taco is a must!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, friendly staff, from apps to dinner everything it's delightful, great place to go and hang out w friends enjoying great atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishøj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Work of art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant twice - both times fantastic !
The food is in a world class league, brilliant balanced and presented with style.
Good selections of wines and drinks (we did not try their wide selection of beers).
Good service.
Not expensive.
In short: the best we had in Sarasota during our stay for five weeks !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pisco sour before ceviche - yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant has a ton going for it. From creative Peruvian food- amazingly well presented - to craft beers that you will love, you will relax in the warm atmosphere with attentive staff. The menu features many appetizers that can double as entrees. Very creative cuisine will make you want to return to try various offerings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darwin's on 4th also viewed

 

Been to Darwin's on 4th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darwin's on 4th, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.