We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Ski Show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarasota Ski-A-Rees Water Ski Show

Sarasota Ski-A-Rees Water Ski Show
1602 Ken Thompson Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34236
(941) 388-1666
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Bedford
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fun Family Ski Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good ski show talent that is great for the family. Recommend bringing an umbrella for shade or getting there early so you can sit under a tree (those spots fill up fast).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pinnebog
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sarasota Ski-A-Rees Water Ski Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Friends of ours were surfing the Web, looking for things to do in the Tampa Bay area. They found the Sarasota Ski-A-Rees Water Ski Show. The website stated that the show was "Sarasota's best kept secret". We decided to check it out. We learned that the performers practice most Sundays in the winter months. Admission if free, but they ask for donations, but NO high pressure for donations. There are food and drinks available for purchase, cash only.

We went there April 14, 2013. There is free parking next to the Mote Aquarium, next to the Ski-A-Rees shoreline and spectator area. There are bleacher-type seats facing the shore. Some people in wheelchairs were able to be seated right in front. There are a few clean port-o-lets for the public's use. The group operates a snack bar with hot dogs, hamburgers, snacks, bottled water, and 1/2 liter bottles of Coke and Diet Coke.

Staff are very friendly. One of the staffers acts as the hostess and throughout the 1+ hour show, tells the history of the Ski-A-Rees and introduces the skiers and their acts. Acts include water skiing with and without a ramp, barefoot water skiing, pyramids up to 14 skiers, and more. It is a delight to watch these talented young and not-as-young adults practice and perform for a crowd.

The show begins at 2:00pm. Would advise arriving by 1:30 to be assured a seat. By 2:00pm the seats were filled, but there seemed to be enough seating for everyone.

The Mote Marine Aquarium and Laboratory is in the same area. We toured the Mote about five years ago. It was a worthwhile experience, but in my opinion a wee bit pricey.

All in all, we really enjoyed the Ski-A-Rees..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Free water skiing show!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Discovered this show while looking up things to do near Lido Beach after reading it is Sarasota's best kept secret! I checked out their website and facebook page toget the details and directions, they have the shows every Sunday at 2pm. We arrived at 1:30 on Easter day and the bleachers were almost completely full but my family of 6 were offered a seat on the edge of the stage. There is a small refreshment stand (they only accept cash, which you will also need for the donations), port-a-potty and the whole staff is very friendly. My family enjoyed the show and have told many people about it since, we will back for sure!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a Show!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This group of volunteer water skiers put on a fabulous FREE show for the audience, which filled the bleachers to capacity. The skiers ranged in age from 4 years, to adult. Most of the flips, boat-o's, pyramids and other beautifully executed stunts were performed by teens - absolutely amazing! Their dedication to this sport showed in the enthusiastic and professional approach to pleasing the audience. We enjoyed the humorous interaction with the emcee and the skiers because they drew us in and made us feel welcomed. This is one show you don't want to miss while you are visiting Sarasota. There is one performance on Sundays so get there early for a seat. Their facility is located near Mote Marine. The group is totally voluntary and as I mentioned, the show is free; but take some cash for the donation bucket to show your appreciation for all the hard work that makes this show happen.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My 4th time watching the waterski show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Everytime we go to this free show, it is different! My relatives that range from 2 - 80 just love every second! This week we got to see a black lab water ski and the skiiers did a flip over the announcer! Great fun, always a surprise twist in the show!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarasota Ski-A-Rees Water Ski Show also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sarasota Ski-A-Rees Water Ski Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarasota Ski-A-Rees Water Ski Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.