We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
University and Honore, Sarasota, FL 34201
(941) 952-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 852 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Awesomel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First visit, had lunch. The New Orleans oysters are ridiculously delicious! Can't wait to go back and have a pile of them! Had the Half Shell Salad w/grilled shrimp. So delicious, ate every last bit. Service was awesome, owner came over and said "hello," just top notch all around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    60
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impressive restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Half shell oyster house was a very pleasant experience that was reminiscent of a New Orleans style restaurant. The restaurant had very good seafood and the service was very helpful and prompt as well. I recommend the stuffed portabella mushrooms as well as the shrimp that they claimed would taste like baby lobsters for which they actually did! My only critique was that the restaurant was not necessarily kid friendly as the menu for the kids was very minimal. This would be a great date night restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byram, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went here for dinner, the downtown area of Sarasota. The waiter Markus was very friendly right off the bat. Out first time there so we were given a free appetizer of 5 chargrilled oysters and 5 New Orleans style. They were so good I could not decide which was better!! Then I had to try the oysters bienville these were delicious as well. I would call it a 3 way tie as they were all so good and very fresh. Dinner was shrimp and grits with a pecan bbq sauce. The sauce was so good and the grits were very light and flavorful. I loved it all!! I would say this is a must try place, and request Markus as your waiter, he is a trip and very funny!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Found by mistake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Missed our turn and saw half shells last year. Eat twice last year and so far twice this year and will do back before we leave. The raw oysters are great out of Louisiana they are large and great. Have had different meal each time and all have been super.staff is great and helpful. A must try

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oysters are sooooo good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm not sure if it's the location in downtown Sarasota or the truly fine food that makes this spot the best. The oysters are as good as the big easy. The bar is so nice you just want to stay and stay. Great service staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Shell Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.