We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maximo's - CLOSED

Maximo's
1296 First Street, Sarasota, FL 34236
(941)366-7744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unpleasant Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We wanted to try something new for downtown dining so we decided to try out Maximo's about a month ago. Since the reviews here were favorable, I felt obligated to comment on our experience.

We both ordered the dinner specials for the evening and special appetizer. The app was Quail and it was brought to us charred and burned to the color black. The side of some kind of cabbage veggie that accompanied the Quail was fair to taste. When the veal and fish specials came out, they were served with the same cabbage and vegatables as our appetizer had, so we definetly had enough of that! The veal and fish were prepared fair at best.

We dine out alot and unfortunately would not consider giving this place another try. IMO,the Chef should never plate Quail in that manner. We would have appreciated some variation with the special side dishes also with our dinners.

The only slight positive was the ambiance of the outside dining, and I say slight because some of the backdrop greenery lighting was broken.

Sorry, but we suggest going acrossd the street to the Bijiou, as we have dined there many times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Trendy, Tasty and Terrific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Upscale Italian with a South African influence? It actually works! Located in downtown Sarasota (less than a block from a very large free parking garage), Maximo's Restaurant & Lounge is the creation of Chef Max. My dining companion explained that Max is Italian but was raised in South Africa. And the combination of the two blend rather nicely.

The dining room is very nice, beautifully decorated and completely upscale. Upon entering you'll know "fine dining" is in your immediate future. The service is first-class all the way; absolutely professional. And the food was "interesting".

Most of the time when someone says "interesting" it's a nice way to say they didn't like it. But in this case, "interesting" is literal, as in "not boring" or "not the same old same old". The food was actually interesting. For example, I had a "simple" avocado and shrimp salad. Except is wasn't simple. It was actually complicated from my palate's point of view. Chef Max had incorporated citrus into the avocado and prepared the shrimp with a mix of flavors that my uneducated palate couldn't quite identify. The dish was wonderful, healthful and to this easily bored consumer of cuisine, interesting. From me, that's high praise. I'll go there again and again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
“Excellent food, amazing atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

It was a great experience! The food was surprisingly delicious, as everything is out of the ordinary, great way to be introduced to new things! A delicious blend of flavors and atmosphere!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So Different!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We walked past Maximo's our first night in Sarasota and something about it made us deiced that it would be our stop for dinner on the second night. Wow was that a good choice. I highly recommend that you try at least a few of the restaurant's wild game dishes that are cool blends of Italian and South African flavors. We also tried their African Injer, a beef stew served on top of a large pancake that you can use to scoop up all the wonderful stew, so good and you get to eat with your fingers. The ostrich appetizer was simply wonderful. Ask the waiters for recommendations on the south African wines they are very helpful.

Be aware that the restaurant is right next to the opera house and if there is a show you will need reservations for dinner before 8pm. The patio is lovely and very private considering it is located on a major road. If the weather is nice, go for it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sarasota Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The ambiance and food quality make Maximo's one of our favorite choices for dinner. If you can eat outside in the courtyard, you'll find is lovely and an intimate setting for dinner for two. My favorite menu item is the tuna tartar but all of the selections are great and Max will make special modifications if need be...just ask!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximo's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.