We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great indoor or outdoor dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximo's - CLOSED

Maximo's
1296 First Street, Sarasota, FL 34236
(941)366-7744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great indoor or outdoor dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Loved it all... sat outside in their lovely enclosed patio and enjoyed the breezes and flowers and of course the food. Everything was very well prepared...we were a party of three and we each had something different and loved it all. You will not be disappointed. The servers were friendly and nice wine selection. Will definetly return, when next we're in Sarasota a GEM

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best pork I've ever eaten.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Pork bruchetta was excellent. Free wine with opera ticket. Sophistocated but friendly. (Ignore the snooty opera goers and you'll have a great time.)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality, presentation and service in a handsome setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Maximo's has reincarnated itself downtown after several years on Siesta Key. The setting is in an historic building, just around the corner from Sarasota's Opera House and affords attractive settings for both indoor and outdoor dining.

On our recent visit my wife had exquisitely prepared lamb curry, while I opted for veal scallopine pizzaiola. Maximo's offered perhaps the highest-quality, most tender veal that I have consumed during twelve years of living in Sarasota. Just a wonderful dish.

Maximo's, also, has a heritage of South African and Ethiopian cuisines and wines, which I also would highly recommend for those who wish to experience some new delicious flavors. The wine list also highlights many good South African wines.

Although its likely sound passé these days, it's worth mentioning the Maximo's tiramisu is not to be missed, a paradoxically ultra-rich, but light, confection that simply disappears from your plate before you know it.

Lastly, the service is capable, attentive and professional, which is so much appreciated.

Overall, I would highly recommend this establishment for an enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience, indeed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Tonight I visited Maximo for the third time. Each time I had something different, and each time I enjoyed it thoroughly. I've eaten there on consecutive Tuesday nights before the opera; and we took friends there on Sunday for lunch, again before the opera.

Everyone we've taken into Maximo's has loved it. The fried calamari that another reviewer found distasteful was called "delicious" by our guest on Sunday. I regularly order one of the appetizers and a salad because I can't usually finish a large dinner; and each time this combination has been a winner. Tonight I had a goat cheese salad and a lovely ostrich dish. Two of our guests ordered the lamb curry and loved it. The wine list is diverse and well priced. The staff at Maximo's is charming and attentive, including the owner, who regularly comes around to the tables to ask his customers whether everything is satisfactory. The outside garden is a lovely place to sit for dinner, with its subdued, lighting throwing beautiful shadows on the wall. My only fear in giving this wonderful new restaurant a really high rating is that it will be too crowded when we return for dinners before the La Musica series.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We came to the Sarasota area January 1 and within a week a I met a local guy on the golf course who said "my favorite restaurant in Sarasota just reopened." I remembered the name Maximo, and my wife and I went down that evening to check it out. We weren't really that hungry, but the menu was so enticing we had to split an appetizer and the lamb curry. Outstanding! Ostrich carpaccio? An enticing menu. Plus, we had personal attention from Max himself.

Well, in the two months we were in town we enjoyed the Maximo experience six more times. Antelope bresaola, tuna tartare, the best salmon ever, incredible service from Carly, Ryan, Thomaso, Krista, and the last night there was even a great piano player on the outdoor patio. (Who let me sing with him).

A perfect combination of ambiance, service and great food. Our new favorite restaurant indeed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximo's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.