We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely outdoor setting and diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maximo's - CLOSED

Maximo's
1296 First Street, Sarasota, FL 34236
(941)366-7744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor setting and diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We ate outdoor in a lovely setting, quiet despite the opera crowds gathering outside. Food was very good, especially the South African curry. This is the third restaurant the current owner has been involved with at least since we have been in Sarasota; we had a pleasant evening and will return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Maximo's offers variety, great flavors, and excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Maximo! is located adjacent to the Sarasota Opera House. My wife and I and another couple had dinner at Maximo! on Saturday evening before the opera. The menu is very varied, with several meat, seafood and pasta dishes, plus ostrich and kudu. The owner is Italian and South African. I had the beef tenderloin, which we were told was buffalo. It was extraordinary. My wife had the grilled prawns which were excellent. One of our friends had a seafood and pasta dish, which he thoroughly enjoyed and the other, who is a vegitarian, had a pasta and vegetables dish which the chef prepared especially for her, as it was not on the menu. The portions were all quite large, but we left nothing on our plates. We look forward to going back again, including for our next opera . The building is historical and is very charming. There are tables both at street level and upstairs, plus an outdoor garden area. We are aware of several restaurants that tried and failed at this location, but Maximo! is a definite winner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“At last, an exciting, new dining experience in Sarasota!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Adjacent to the Sarasota Opera House, at 1296 1st Street, in an historic building, Maximo's offers a multi-ethnic menu of delicious choices. Who could imagine that sauteed cabbage would be something to swoon over!?! Fish is expertly prepared and for the adventurous there is ostrich, other wild game, Ethiopian spices and Italian entrees. There is a full bar and a wine list which features reasonably priced, excellent South African wines. Lovely decor, original tin ceilings, street level dining room, 2nd level dining and party rooms and inviting outdoor terrace all combine to make Maximo's a place to be enjoyed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Went out last Saturday and had the 1 pound lobster tail. Fantastic. My wife had the koi steak prepared to perfection. Atmosphere was terrific. Will return

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I don't know what could have happened between the previous review and our visit but it is as though we are speaking about different restaurants. Our friends shared a number of dishes with us and each bite brought sounds of pleasure from everyone.The tuna tartare appetizer, which I have had at a 1/2 dozen restaurants in Sarasota, exceeded expectations. The ostrich carpaccio was exquisitely delicate and delicious, the lamb with couscous combined the often stringent mediterranean spices more expertly than any restaurant in Sarasota claiming a mediterranean heritage. Finding the combination of high quality catch, perfected flavor and texture in fish in Sarasota is not easy when you expect Le Bernardin level preparation, but Maximo's nailed it. Where do you get all this and a space that is itself a conversation piece, elegant but lively, historical and energetic at the same time....and by the way, great music was playing....

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximo's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.