We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach vacation ay the Limetree Beach Resort - Lido Key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Limetree Beach Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Limetree Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Limetree Beach Resort to your Saves list
1050 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Carlinville, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach vacation ay the Limetree Beach Resort - Lido Key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Limetree Beach Resort on Lido Key from August 2-9, 2014. We made our reservation through RCI as a timeshare exchange. We had a wonderful week and highly recommend this resort. The location is on beautiful Lido Key and the resort offered everything we needed for a great vacation - perfect location - pool and hot tub - beach just steps away. The staff was excellent and check-in and out was quick and simple.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Been going there for twenty years. If it weren't for the fact it is right on the beach I would consider finding another vacation rental. The place needs some major updating from some professionals. It could be cleaner upon check in and the bedding could be more comfortable. If it were not for the full time staff (who are exceptional) this might have been a bad experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Gulf are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

For 27 years Limetree has been our only family vacation spot. Excellent location, staff and facilities for a relaxing experience on the west coast of FL. Timeshare units provide full accommodations for families without being cost prohibited. Located right on the beach convenient to shopping & restaurants without all the noise of amusement parks. It is the best! Rick

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Limetree Resort saved my husband and me from what would have been a very bad vacation experience. I am a true TripAdvisor user/follower. I will not book a hotel reservation before I read its reviews on this site. That being said, I made a 3-night reservation at a hotel on the beach in Lido Key based on TA reviews. It was a clear mistake--the first time this has happened to me. On further investigation, there were some very negative reviews which I apparently didn't read. Pulling into this other property, I could have cried. It was definitely not what I wanted for my vacation hotel--very old outdated, rusty,etc .It looked nothing like its web photos. My husband went next door (The Limetree) and lucky for us, they had a 3 night room/condo available. We were able to get out of our reservation at said unacceptable place, and we moved into the Limetree. What a beautiful place! The Limetree is a resort property in which each of the condos is owned by individuals. The units rent for the week (Saturday-Saturday), so we were fortunate to have one available Wed-Sat. I have nothing negative to say about the Limetree. The employees were so nice and accommodating. I noticed a TA review stating that the man who pulls out the beach chairs was rude, however, that man isn't employed by the Limetree. He is a business person who rents beach chairs and umbrellas to anyone (not just Limetree guests) who wants one. The grounds were beautifully manicured, the pool was great, and our condo was beautifully furnished. We had a great view of the pool and beach/Gulf from our balcony. The lawn chairs looked new-so different from the place next door. The resort is built in a "U" shape, and inside, along with the pool and tables, there's a gathering place for people to visit/mingle. Cooking grills are available. This is a great place for families.. We loved the Limetree Resort and will definitely stay there again when we're in Sarasota.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have been coming to the limetree for years now and it never disappoints. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the place is really well run. Units are very good. The location is brilliant . It is right on the beach and you can walk to st armands circle for eats or an ice cream. There are bikes, tennis and shuffleboard leisure activities.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a week at the resort in one of the central court apartments. The room had a magnificent sea view. The apartment itself was well equipped although furniture was slightly dated. Staff were great and facilities were good. They have a free self service & drying facility, small gym, and a nice swimming pool . You can walk directly on to the beach and the sea turtles lay their eggs there. We also saw manatee further along the beach. The beach itself is relatively small, however wasn't over crowded. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Recently returned from our first stay at Limetree Beach Resort and was very pleased with everything. The management, housekeeping and grounds staff do a wonderful job keeping this resort pristine. When we first arrived we had trouble with our key not working like it should and once we reported it to management they sent someone immediately to correct it. He replaced it with a brand new lock cylinder and never had any trouble afterwards. We have been coming to Lido Beach for about 6 years or so and had stayed at several places but have now found our perfect place on the Key. We were pleased how meticulously the resort is maintained. It was extremely quiet especially during the night which is a BIG plus! Our unit was very nice, clean, spacious and fully equipped for the week. There is even a small safe for your valuables. Actually, not having daily maid service was great because we could sleep as late as we wanted without having the worry to be out of the room by a certain time frame. I highly recommend this resort and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Limetree Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limetree Beach Resort

Address: 1050 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limetree Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.