We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort in a great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Limetree Beach Resort

Limetree Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Limetree Beach Resort
Save
You added Limetree Beach Resort to your Saves list
1050 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Resort in a great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My Wife and I just spent two weeks in a gulf front unit here, and were very happy with resort.
The furnishings were a little tired (except for the televisions which appeared to be brand new), but the unit and the resort were spotlessly clean. The staff was both friendly and accommodating. The pool and beach areas were first rate, and the sunsets from our balcony were amazing. The place has a family atmosphere as many of the guests return year after year, and they all seem to know each other. We were quickly welcomed into the group however and had a wonderfully relaxing two weeks. The resort is a quick 15 minute walk to St Armands Circle, 10 minutes by car to Sarasota, and 15 minutes to Anna Maria

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, MI
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from a two week stay at the Limetree Resort on Lido Key. It was a wonderful place to stay. It offered a great location on the beach, and the condo was fully equipped with every convenience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is also a lovely pool. The Limetree is in a perfect location with a 15 minute walk to St. Armand's Circle and an even shorter walk to South Lido Park. We loved everything about this place and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: The Limetree is relatively small and is in a U-shape. All rooms face either the beach or the pool wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is an absolutly wonderful beach resort. Its located in the perfect spot. It has a very friendly staff. Tennis Courts, basketball hoop, shuffle board, bikes and cabana rentals on the beach. Great pool with lots of lounge area and chairs. The rooms are great and beachy feeling with a nice kitchen area and also pleasent sitting area right outside your door. Quieter location and gorgeous sand. Its one of my favorite places to go, I have been going for years now and always look forward to going back. Also located very close to St. Armands Circle easy to walk to with lots of great shops,resturants and local gems.

Room Tip: Rooms middle to closest to the beach have the best view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCALA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

i love limetree and plan to go back. i prefer a small quiet place and love it if it's right on the beach and this resort is exactly that. the place was clean and the staff was friendly. the location is great, it's near great restaurants, museums etc. but still private and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We've been to the Limtree Beach Resort annually for the past 4 years. My parents were initially recommeded to this hotel by their friends who loved it, my parents subsequently stayed at the hotel and loved it as well. My husband, two children and I visited this hotel several times over the last few years - on several ocassions, my parents would join along. The view from a golf front rooms are second to none - especially the gorgeous sunsets. Everyone from the hotel tends to gather by the beach to watch together as the sun goes down, and bongo drums are played in the distance, making the whole experience quite nostalgic. As for the hotel rooms - they are roomy and comfortable. We love having a full kitchen in our 1 bedroom suite, which allows us to cook breakfast, lunch and snacks. The hotel also provides several propane bbq's which allows for delicious steak, chicken and seafood cookouts right on the golf of mexico. The pool is kept very clean and never overcrowded. The clientel are seniors and family and folks to chat with comes easy. Every Tuesday night, the hotel brings in a band, who interacts with the guests. Guests can dance, sing, play the bongos amd shakers, or just sit back, relax and enjoy the show. We always look forward to Tuesday nights. The staff at Limetree are incredibly attentive as well, and respond to any queries promptly. The hotel is also located a 15 minute walk, or 5 minute drive-trolley ride to St. Armands Circle where gorgeous shops and cafe's line the streets. Also nearby, on Longboat Key, is the Aquarium - perfect for the whole family, with the chance to pet the stingrays, visit with dolphins, sharks and manatee. If you are looking for a low key, but fun beach vacation at your doorstep - Limetree is where to be. Thanks Limetree!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is our 4th year staying at Limetree and it feels as comfortable as an old shoe. The staff and management go out of the way to make one feel comfortable and welcome, even to providing free morning newspapers and the use of a computer and printer in the office. Wireless signal in unit can be slow. Each unit has 1 or 2 bedrooms, 1 or 2 baths, and all face heated super clean swimming pool. The superfine gulf white sand makes great walking. Sunsets are superb over the ocean. Most people love the guest who plays a daily sunset trumpet tribute from the upper balcony, I happen to find it annoying. Limetree is constantly being cleaned and painted and upgraded, unit by unit. Rentals are usually by the week with the occaisonal 3 day fill in when available. Units are family friendly, over all age up there with the some kids and young couple sprinkled in. The location of Limetree is great with St Armands circle offering great shopsand restaurants just a few blocks away. Public parks are within walking distance and bikes are provided if you want them.
Overall, very comfortable and safe place to stay.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We went to this resort via an exchange at Interval International. Exchanges in and around Sarasota are few and far between. We love Longboat Key and when we had the opportunity to go to LimeTree and stay on Lido Beach, we jumped at it. We were on the second floor, looking out over the beach and Gulf of Mexico. We had a seating area right outside our front door and could see from the kitchen out to the beach. We could walk the length of Lido Beach (from the public beach on the north to the pass at the park on the south end). The sand was very nice to walk on (white, sugar sand). A frontal passage one night brought in an abundance of sea shells.

The pool was very clean and had loads of lounge chairs and tables. The resort provided musical entertainment one night and a "cook out" another night. They also have an activity center with a ping pong table for those rainy days. They provide free washers and dryers for their guests. We were able to check out bicycles and ride around the island.

Staff members are very friendly and will readily help you find nearby stores and attractions. All in all, a great week at the beach.

Room Tip: The resort is horseshoe shaped. The rooms in the curve look out over the pool. The rooms at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Limetree Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limetree Beach Resort

Address: 1050 Ben Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limetree Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.