We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but very rich.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puccini's Cucino Amore

Puccini's Cucino Amore
2881 Clark Road, Merchant's Point Plaza, Sarasota, FL 34231
+1 941-923-7002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #268 of 890 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Puccini's is an intimate and magical dining experience. Request a chef table and sit and watch Chef Richard perform and prepare your meal right in his kitchen. Puccini's is a BYOB restaurant with no corkage fee. Cash or check only please. Reservations only.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food but very rich.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This small restaurant is tucked in the Sweet Bay strip mall - the name is only on the the glass window, making it difficult to locate. The tables in back half of the restaurant allow the diners to watch the chef-owner, Richard, prepare the meals- make sure you request one of those tables. The waiter presented us with a complimentary bruschetta with mozzarella and white beans.We had the baked mushrooms- which were wild mushrooms with a delicious cheese and brown sauce. The other appetizer was a special for the evening- ravioli stuffed with ricotta and spinach in a butter sauce. The pasta on the ravioli was wonderfully thin and delicate and the dish was rich and flavorful. For my entree, I ordered the wild salmon.It was cooked perfectly with a butter type sauce, but the orzo underneath it lacked flavor and salt and robbed some of the flavor from the salmon.. The other entree was veal Porcini. Nice flavor, you could taste the butter, once again, and that also was placed over the disappointing orzo. We normally do not eat such rich food,but we would go back one more time. Also its BYOB, and cash or check.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    27
    9
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Went to Puccini's to celebrate a special birthday. The entire experience was terrible from not being able to find our reservation to bad food and a horrible waiter. We ordered Ribeye steak and it was tough. We were told if we wanted a tender steak we should have gone to a steak house. My veal was tasteless. We ended up leaving and going to a different restaurant. I will say that after the rude waiter, the owner did say we did not have to pay for our meal. However we were never given the option to order something different. We just paid for our appetizers and left. I do not recommend this restaurant at all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Puccini's offers excellent cuisine at a fair price. Entree selections included a nice variety of specials along with the regular menu items. Everything from the appetizers through the entrees and sides were superb. The table service was notably timely and efficient. Guests can observe the chef prepare the meals and he was obviously a professional. The entire staff was courteous and solicitous for our dining pleasure. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My nephews' rehearsal dinner was held at Puccinis. There were 20 of us. Some out of towners had difficulty locating the restaurant because of its strip mall location. We had our own room and dedicated servers. Each diner could order from the menu or from the specials. The veal puccini was outstanding, the scallop appetizer was amazingly large and fresh, the shrimp on broccolini appetizer was delicious and entree sized. Everyone attending was happy with ther meals. My desert was pecan pie, which has a smoky quality I loved. Service was not fast but food was delivered when ready, hot and appetizing. The staff were very nice and helped make our evening one we won't forget.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A real let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This restaurant was a huge disappointment. It had been recommended by 2 different locals. We called ahead and made a reservation for the main room. We got there and were put into the adjacent room with a wobbly table and lawn chairs....it went downhill from there. The food was poorly seasoned and the staff were cold. My husband want's to give them a second chance.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini's Cucino Amore also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Puccini's Cucino Amore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puccini's Cucino Amore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.