We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Comfort Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat Here - CLOSED

Eat Here
1888 Main Street, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-365-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Links Ave
Description: Eat Here offers chef-driven, American artisan cookery. An emphasis on local product and fresh Gulf seafood served in presentations suitable for sharing and tasting. A casual neighborhood place, with a community table, featuring craft beers and wines. The rooftop bar, overlooking the fountain courtyard and the city of Sarasota, features specialty cocktails, classic martinis, charcuterie, and live music.
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Comfort Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you are planning to go to downtown Sarasota for dinner, this place is a must! The only way I can describe the menu is eclectic comfort food. Everything we had was prepared fresh and sooo delicious. Try anything on the menu, you can't go wrong! The wait staff were very friendly as well. Don't miss this restaurant.........cudos to the chef...........!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    55
    21
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sarasota, FL
1 review
“Breath of Fresh Air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Easily one of my favorite contemporary eating places in Sarasota area. I'm picky (call me a foodie) about where and what I eat and this unique place satisfies my fussy palate. You don't have to be a foodie top enjoy it. They have good friendly competent service. My desire for interesting varied dishes, and have fun/relax has been achieved every time at Eat Here! Their wine list is affordable and has excellent choices. When I've gone here I've taken 4 or 6 people with me and we're all treated well and no one was disappointed. The fact that this bistro-styled place (2 others owned in Siesta-Key area) opened only since January is surprise as the staff has it quite together. The place fills up fast so either make reservations well in advance or get there when they open (5 pm) but before 6pm or be prepared to wait. However, if you have to wait, the bar area has ample seating, tasty wines and mixed drinks, and service is great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Co. USA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Very accommodating, with good food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

In town for the Sarasota Filmfest. We saw a movie in the early afternoon which let out earlier than this place opened. Like almost an hour earlier...
Well the short of it is they let us in and made us comfortable on the upstairs veranda. We enjoyed wonderful cocktails and apple cider until five, when their kitchen was ready for us, then ordered up a couple of individual veggie pizzas, tow of us had their to die for lobster tacos, and one tried this oh so Gucci Cesar salad with diced up Cale in it. While sounding a bit too hip for me I did eat hall of it, it was tasty.
The wait staff were very sweet, all considered it was a very nice experience.
You gotta love a place that is fine with letting you in and serving you drinks while they're getting the place ready to open, it's like we belonged there...
Ciao for now, salida1048

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Eat Here is Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Most interesting about this restaurant is that in has unique preparations of basic meals and also some non-traditional ideas as well. Also, if you read the menu carefully there are some pretty funny descriptions for several of the dishes. We have been there four times now and have not been disappointed. Our only criticism is that while the food is very good it does not measure up to the expectation conveyed in the description.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Eat Here is our go-to place for the best contemporary comfort food you can find. EVERYTHING is wonderful and it works whether it's just two of us out for a light bite or with a gang of friends. We love bringing friends to Eat Here because their small plates and vastly varied menu make ordering everything and sharing a wonderful way to experience culinary excellence. The service is top-notch and the manager Dale is the best -- he remembers his customers, even their taste in wine -- and always tries to accommodate us. This is our neighborhood restaurant (a block away from our condo) but we would trek to it even if we had to drive. We consider ourselves lucky to have Eat Here in our backyard.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Here also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat Here, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.