We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Molly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zante Gyros - CLOSED

Zante Gyros
6500 Superior Ave, Sarasota, FL 34231-5836
941-312-5072
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Holy Molly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife, and I came to Zantes to try it out it was better than i expected. The area isnt the best but when you walk into the restaurant it changes, nothing too special inside however the staff makes it the best. We came in and there were 2 teenagers that were left in charge (boy, and girl) the girl was training but did a phenomenal job, and the boy cooked, he was delightful to speak with (great sense of humor) we joked and they brought us our food very quickly. We enjoyed Zantes abd will definitely be back

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    37
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Had great Gyro (Lamb)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

First visit to Zante. The Lamb Gyro I had was excellent. The pita was warm & very tasty. The only negative I had was the place wasn't that clean. Tables were dirty and un-bussed etc. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Gyro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I ordered gyros while at Mr. Beery's nearby. Loved them! They were delivered fast and tasted amazing. It was a good sized portion but I had to eat the whole thing because it was so good. Have never been in the restaurant but will definitely stop by soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

After reading the reviews we just had to stop by and try the restaurant. Typical Gyro prices (modest $) but the food is what you can expect to find at almost any vendor of gyros and other Greek food. The gyros were typical but overladen with tzatziki. Yes, the portion was good sized so if that is your measuring stick then go for it. Not sure what everyone is raving about. The atmosphere is non-existent (more like a deli) with a smattering of formica tables and a couple of posters of Greece on the wall.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Your my gyro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Tried the traditional gyro, it was great. French fries were good. Prices very reasonable, can't wait to try the rest of the menu. A small restaurant with a family appeal, worth a trip for the gyro, if nothing else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zante Gyros also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zante Gyros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.