We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had great Gyro (Lamb)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zante Gyros - CLOSED

Zante Gyros
6500 Superior Ave, Sarasota, FL 34231-5836
941-312-5072
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Had great Gyro (Lamb)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

First visit to Zante. The Lamb Gyro I had was excellent. The pita was warm & very tasty. The only negative I had was the place wasn't that clean. Tables were dirty and un-bussed etc. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Gyro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I ordered gyros while at Mr. Beery's nearby. Loved them! They were delivered fast and tasted amazing. It was a good sized portion but I had to eat the whole thing because it was so good. Have never been in the restaurant but will definitely stop by soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

After reading the reviews we just had to stop by and try the restaurant. Typical Gyro prices (modest $) but the food is what you can expect to find at almost any vendor of gyros and other Greek food. The gyros were typical but overladen with tzatziki. Yes, the portion was good sized so if that is your measuring stick then go for it. Not sure what everyone is raving about. The atmosphere is non-existent (more like a deli) with a smattering of formica tables and a couple of posters of Greece on the wall.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Your my gyro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Tried the traditional gyro, it was great. French fries were good. Prices very reasonable, can't wait to try the rest of the menu. A small restaurant with a family appeal, worth a trip for the gyro, if nothing else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsfield,ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gyro Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on a beach trip to Siesta Key. Small place in a strip mall. The owner and employee greeted us warmly upon entering. A refreshing change from the usual robot order takers we normally find at a lot of restaurants. Ordered the classic gyro platter. Plentiful hand carved meat fresh off the "cone". It was so good we had another! Philly Cheese Steak was also exceptional. The greek lemon soup (forgot real name) was equally delicious and homemade. It is worth the trip to this hidden Sarasota gem. Prices are super reasonable. Their claim to "best gyro in town" is very humble. Should be "best gyro ANYWHERE"!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zante Gyros also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zante Gyros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.