We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little casual place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KaCey's Seafood and More

KaCey's Seafood and More
4904 Fruitville Rd, Sarasota, FL 34232 (Formerly Doggin' It Hot Dog & Chili Emporium)
941-378-3644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 852 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sarasota FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little casual place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited Kacey's after hearing great things about it. This is a very small and casual restaurant - 12 tables inside, a counter with a few stools, two picnic tables outside - plastic table clothes and '50s style kitchen chairs, heavy duty "paper" plates, plastic baskets (but fabric napkins - go figure) If you are looking for a more formal dining experience, try the Lazy Lobster on Lockwood Ridge Rd or Longboat Key - same company. Although the menu offers a number of non-fried items, the night we visited at least 90% of the diners ordered a fried basket BECAUSE THEY ARE DELICIOUS!!!! Contrary to what a previous reviewer stated, there is no fried food odor in the restaurant, despite the fact that the kitchen is totally visible to diners. I had the small fried shrimp basket - 5 large battered shrimp that were fresh and tasty - not overpowered by the batter. My husband had the shrimp and grits dinner - 8 large shrimp cajun style over grits...excellent. Prices are very reasonable. Service was excellent. The manager visited our table several times to ensure we were enjoying our meal. All in all, a very good dining experience - we will be back to visit and will tell our friends!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    58
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved this little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Recently in Sarasota. Went to Kacey's on trip advisor recommendation. Was not disappointed. Small and comfortably casual. Food was great- coconut shrimp -large and succulent. Key lime pie -homemade - really good. Price was so reasonable for seafood. Great place - enjoy!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Do not miss this place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to Kaceys for lunch today and it was incredible. We just moved to the area and both work at beach resorts and we are both going to be sending people over to Kaceys! We both had the soup and dog lunch combo. I had one best gumbos ever! I had the Cincinnati dog and that was AMAZING as well. We will be back for sure!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Finally a Cincinnati chili place that's close by.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Coming from Ohio you gotta love Cincinnati chili. Well this place delivers. I had the cheese coney and it was awesome. Good wings too. I'll be back soon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Badly fried food capital”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Overpowering smell of fried food throughout restaurant. Menu described fried clam platter; turned out to be clam strips only (no bellies) and tasteless..mostly batter with little clam meat. Fries were greasy, oversalted and overcooked. Slaw was only edible part of dish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine_lobster, Owner at KaCey's Seafood and More, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Herb S, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. I do have a few clarifications to make, however. Given your aversion to fried foods, I am unclear as to why you chose one of the 13 (out of approximately 45) items on the menu that is served fried. We have more than 30 other items on the menu that are not fried, including Grilled Grouper, Salmon, Seared Rare Tuna & Peel N Eat Shrimp. We hope that you come back again and try one of the other items on our menu and if you have questions or comments about your experience, please let one of the owners or managers know immediately - they are always on site and ready to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KaCey's Seafood and More also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to KaCey's Seafood and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KaCey's Seafood and More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.