We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So love the new menu and vibe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KaCey's Seafood and More

KaCey's Seafood and More
4904 Fruitville Rd, Sarasota, FL 34232 (Formerly Doggin' It Hot Dog & Chili Emporium)
941-378-3644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 852 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
sarasota FL
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“So love the new menu and vibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was a great hot dog place before, but now an even better seafood destination. I loved their clams (could have been more, though) and Mom loved her fried shrimp, which were plentiful even though she ordered the small basket. They kept my favorite Philly Cheese Steak on the menu, and have a great lobster bisque. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    58
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have had the small coconut shrimp basket twice in a week. It was excellent! The shrimp are huge. Next time my husband and I go we're going share a large basket. The servers are very attentive and returned to our table several times to refill our drinks and see if we needed anything. The restaurant is clean and well lit with windows all around.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEEN THERE 4 TIMES THIS WEEK!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Need I say more? I will though... food is great, service is great and friendly people all around. Have taken several friends (reason for 4 trips - LOL) and everyone raved about their great food. We have had several different dishes and all have been excellent. The bisque is out of this world! The coconut shrimp (best in town) and grilled grouper were awesome. One friend had the seared tuna and she was very impressed. Nice presentations as well. No other sea food restaurant can compare to KaCey's and, of course, The Lazy Lobster of Longboat and The Lazy Lobster on Tallevast. I've been to all three and say they are the BEST IN TOWN. Stop by and check these places out and see for yourself! Bon Appetite!! Pat A.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, CT
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good Change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Happened to be in the area and decided to give the new menu a look. They still have several hot dog dishes but fish dishes dominate the menu. I ordered the coconut shrimp basket (large) while my wife ordered the fried shrimp basket (large). We were both very pleased. The shrimp are jumbo size and done just right. Nice to see shrimp that it takes two or three bites to eat as opposed to the Red Lobster size whereby you can eat three at a time. The french fries were crisp and tasty and the hush puppies were not greasy. Actually each of us brought four shrimp home from our orders and we left feeling stuffed. Will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great New Restaurant for Casual Dining in Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Kacey's represents a "remake" of a previous restaurant - Doggin It. Owned by the same folks who operate the Lazy Lobster restaurants, this place is a bit more casual, a bit less expensive, but still very high in quality. Our "peel and eat" shrimp were excellent, the guacamole, fresh and delicious, and all three in our party really enjoyed our entrees. Mine was particularly pleasing - fish and chips here is made from haddock, my very favorite fish from my childhood in upstate NY - and Kacey's does it beautifully. Although Kacey's has only been open for a few days, the staff appears well trained and the kitchen well organized. Our waitress was charming and efficient. We will definitely return to dine again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KaCey's Seafood and More also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to KaCey's Seafood and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KaCey's Seafood and More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.