We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigenous

Indigenous
239 South Links Avenue, Sarasota, FL 34236
9417064740
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 890 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Organic, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Beautiful remodeled old Florida cracker cottages, with an amazing outdoor seating area.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Outstanding Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a wonderful time. Server was knowledgeable. One dish was modified by Chef to accommodate gluten allergy of one of our party. Every dish was outstanding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    52
    17
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Creative, healthy, delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere in a garden setting. Service outstanding, waitstaff knowledgeable and friendly. Food choices interesting using healthy grains (farro, brown rice, quinoa, red rice) and leaves (kale, watercress, pea tendrils). Started off wiyh thepulled lambshank which was out of this world. Followed by a superb mahi mahi with a mint/macademia pesto. Desserts tasty. Lovely overall concept to this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
733 reviews 733 reviews
503 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
“Gets better all the time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant for a long time, but have skipped it for several months due to some menu changes and price increases that we didn't care for.

We've been back twice in the last 2 months and have to say, it's really improved a lot. Both recent visits have been excellent and the dishes both interesting and extremely delicious! :-)

Biggest plus for us is that they strive to serve local ingredients as much as possible. We'd like to see some more focus on organically grown ingredients too...

Highly recommend... Great atmosphere, interesting food combinations and fabulous service :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Two visists made and I hope many more to come.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spend an average of 10 days every 5 to 6 weeks at our place in Bradenton so we have plenty of time to explore the eateries in the Sarasota / Tampa area. There are a lot of excellent venues but only Indigenous has exited us enough to write a review like this.
I could spend time telling of the unusual philosophy of the owner / Chef and the excellent staff who work for him but I think it can easily summarize by saying...if you have a chance to dine there....DO IT. Big time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant with innovative, fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a lovely meal at Indigenous last night. It was our first visit prompted by great reviews on TA. Despite having booked only an hour earlier, we were seated outside at a lovely table on the intimate, wrap around porch. The restaurant is in a converted house with a few indoor dining rooms and an outside seating area, cleverly designed to hide the fact that you are in a quiet residential street just minutes from Main Street. The menu is short, the food is excellent and the service is attentive. You do need to be prepared to eat what's on offer as substitutions etc not encouraged. Nevertheless, as a vegetarian I really enjoyed the kale salad and the Moroccan cous cous which was the vegetarian option that evening. My husband thought his mushroom bisque and shrimp was the best food he had ever eaten in Sarasota in our twenty years of visiting. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigenous also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Indigenous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigenous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.