We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm & sea to table” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigenous

Indigenous
239 South Links Avenue, Sarasota, FL 34236
9417064740
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bistro, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Beautiful remodeled old Florida cracker cottages, with an amazing outdoor seating area.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Farm & sea to table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Dined at this cool resto with gourmet friends from NYC...loved everything. Had wonderful chassagne montrachet; parmesan pear beignets were delicate puffs with a perfect blend of sweet and salty flavors; smooth and earthy wild mushroom bisque with tiny crunchy truffled croutons; perfectly cooked arctic char - we're huge fans of arctic char and this was one of the best we've had anywhere; and surprisingly terrific mote marine sturgeon, tender with a hint of sweetness, and again perfectly cooked. Brioche pudding with rum brown sugar ice cream was to die for, light, not too sweet. Service - Alberto - was excellent, he was attentive, charming and well versed in the intricacies of the chef's culinary magic. So happy Chef Steve stayed in Sarasota!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    42
    11
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Loved it! Great creative meal in beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Terrific food! Such a cute little house with great ambiance. His dinner and our dinner at Selva were the best.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Reservation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is another restaurant that will try to have you dine when it's convenient for them, rather than give you a reservation when you want to dine. Don't play their game and insist on your time or go somewhere else where you can dine at your desired time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“fabulous new restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

charming restaurant in a small converted home. great food and service ! alberto our server was very knowledgible on menu and wine list. and Amanda, the hostess was nice and very helpful with 2 different reservation changes for a saturday night !!! definately need reservations ! try it !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not accommodating w/Arrogant snooty wait staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have enjoyed this restaurant several times over the past two years. We have recommended many of our friends as well. Last night we took a very close couple celebrating an 85th BDay/15th Anniversary. The waiter spoke softly and didn't speak up after asking him too. We had a person with food allergies and was informed that "chef" would not accommodate her needs ie. fresh vegetables sautéed in olive oil. The restaurant advertises the freshest ingredients in Sarasota. The waiter arrogantly informed us that"chef" had already allocated all ingredients to the dishes being served last night so there were no fresh vegetables available. We requested to talk to "chef"' but was told he was too busy...this at 6:15pm. We left too go to a restaurant that values our business and provides the service expected at a fine dining establishment.
Both couples eat out extensively all over the world...never have we run into a "fine dining" restaurant that so bluntly refused to accommodate special dietary needs. Neither couple will return to this restaurant and will probably tell a few people about our experience..."chef" is the owner as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigenous also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Indigenous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigenous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.