We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best italian deli in the state” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Italian Market & Deli

Piccolo Italian Market & Deli
6518 Gateway Ave, Sarasota, FL 34231-4813
+1 941-923-2202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Italian
Description: It is a market and a deli, with superb home-made food and a cafe serving sandwiches, fresh pizza.
Restaurant details
Description: It is a market and a deli, with superb home-made food and a cafe serving sandwiches, fresh pizza.
Lakewood Ranch Fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“By far the best italian deli in the state”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This is like being back in NY
Wish they served dinner here
Try the sfogliatelli imported from Brooklyn
Bobby Coco

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exton, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

SUPER sandwiches. The best bread and REAL Italian meats and fillings. EVERYTHING at this place is wonderful. Super NEW YORK family knows what they're doing. I love this place, and these people!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“If you want the best...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing! There isn't anything about it that isn't the total package. Authentic Italian Deli Market right out of NY. Super yummy subs and fresh mozzarella, they make pinwheel sausage, have beautiful cheese, yummy pasta and market items. If you love a meatball sub with crusty bread and fresh motz GO!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Always Fresh & Delicious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Whenever my wife and I are near Piccolo’s at lunch time, we try to stop for one of their delicious sandwiches. They use Boar’s Head deli cold cuts and their ingredients are always fresh and tasty. We’ve been in NY over the summer, so we were glad to see Josephine and Mama again and enjoy two of the best sandwiches in Sarasota. Their small $5.00 subs are always great, and can’t be beat for freshness, taste and value! I highly recommend Piccolo’s Italian Market for their subs, pizza, salads, bread and all their other imported Italian specialties!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ridiculously good1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten Italian Beef sandwiches for years, and in probably more than a dozen cities. The Italian Beef sandwich here is the best, most authentic of any I have ever had. Friendly staff, reasonable prices, just loved everything.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Italian Market & Deli also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Piccolo Italian Market & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Italian Market & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.