We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sake House

Sake House
1987 Ringling Blvd, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-312-6256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 848 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We often use Tripadvisor to find restaurants in unfamiliar areas and Sake House was at the top of the list with only one visiable negative review. We tried and were not disappointed at all! We had the seafood soup for two, the shrimp tempura and two different selections from their special sushi rolls (#2 & #5). We do not like cucumber so we asked if it could be eliminated and replaced with cream cheese and they were easy to accommodate. They only thing that was slightly disappointing was the vegetables with the tempura. They lacked any distinct flavor and the texture was a little mushy, but the shrimp were so good, it made up for it. Overall, the food and service was excellent & we would definitely go here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I've been to all the sushi houses in Sarasota and am usually disappointed when comparing them to Sake House. The staff is excellent. They are very friendly and accommodating, particularly with my young daughter. The menu selection is very good. The quality is superb and they offer some of the best examples of standard fare at Japanese/Asian cuisine. For instance, their ginger salad, such a simple dish, is so much better than the competition. They also have an extensive selection of sake. Try this place. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great sushi rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife had the sushi rolls here and the place lived up to its expectations. She said it was one of the best sushi rolls she ever had. She got the special which was the fried lobster and she loved it. Unfortunately I did not like my meal as I got the chicken udon and it was terrible. No taste at all, but I pick this restaurant for my wife not myself and all the reviews talk about the sushi rolls. The interior is nice. The service is TERRIBLE and we sense some attitude from our waitress. It needs a more friendly vibe to it. I'm sure service has something to do with there being nobody inside the restaurant given this was around 8PM. Whoever they have serving the tables needs to be fired or given a different position because they're not friendly people. If you love sushi then I would recommend this place. Based off my dish only order sushi lol.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Avoid this place!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

With all the wonderful places available in Sarasota Fl., this is one to avoid! The service was poor and the sushi rolls where tasteless. We ordered 6n different rolls and 2 orders of Teriyaki chicken and every dish lacked flavor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You will love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Best hidden jewel in Sarasota. Freshest sushi I've ever had. There are no other fancy restaurants in town that can compare to Sake. You will love it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake House also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.